Yellow Brick War – Danielle Paige

Summary:
Once upon a time, there was a girl from Kansas named Dorothy.
You might know her as the Girl Who Rode the Cyclone. She ended up in Oz, where she became friends with the Tin Woodman, the Scarecrow, and the Cowardly Lion. But the temptation of magic was too much for her. She let it change her. Her friends became twisted versions of their former selves.
The magical land of Oz is now a dark and menacing place.
My name is Amy Gumm. Tornadoes must have a thing about girls from Kansas, because I got swept away in one too. I also landed in Oz, where Good is Wicked, Wicked is Good, and the Wicked Witches clued me into my true calling:
Assassin.
The only way to stop Dorothy from destroying Oz-and Kansas-is to kill her. And I’m the only one who can do it.
But I failed. Others died for my mistakes. Because of me, the portal between worlds has been opened and Kansas and Oz are both in danger. And if I don’t find a way to close it?
Dorothy will make sure I never get home again.
18602406Review:
I flew through the Dorothy Must Die series because it’s been so awesome. Yellow Brick War by Danielle Paige was probably my least favorite of the three as much as I hate to say it. It ended with a cliff hanger just like the second book, which would be okay if I had the forth book. Unluckily for me, it doesn’t even have a title or a release date. It just says sometime in 2017. I hate waiting for books when they end with cliff hangers like that.
I wouldn’t say that I disliked this book, because I definitely enjoyed reading it. It’s a great continuation of the Dorothy Must Die series. The story itself is wonderful. I love the crazy twist of the original story, The Wizard of Oz. But part of me feels like this series could have been left as a trilogy. It wouldn’t have been overly difficult to wrap this story up nicely with the chaotic and exciting defeat of Dorothy rather than introducing a new, or rather, an ancient villain. I’m definitely still excited to see where the story goes next; to see what craziness these characters find themselves in and how they get out of it.
Yellow Brick War was more complex than the first two books. We’re introduced to another villain. Once that The Revolutionary Order of the Wicked is semi familiar with, but we know nothing about. He threatens Amy’s family and towards the end causes some excitement with others in Amy’s life. There are a few new twists that are introduced in this book which made me realize that this wasn’t going to be the last in the series. I think part of my wishing that it was a trilogy is that I REALLY want to know what’s going to happen. I can be very impatient. While the Dorothy Must Die series could have very easily been made a trilogy, I’m glad it’s not because there are so many questions I still have about Oz and the characters in it.
Amy Gumm struggles very much in this book. We watch her struggle more and more with the darkness in the magic that she’s been taught by the Order. She is obviously good at heart, but it’s even clearer that the magic has started to take a toll on her and her control. I love Amy even more in this book because we get to see how strong she really is. There are a few seriously crazy battles in the pages of Yellow Brick War, not surprising with that title, and a few instances where Amy almost loses complete control of herself and her magic, but somehow finds the good inside her and pulls herself back from the brink. I really love Amy because she can acknowledge that she is teetering on a very fine line. She’s very aware how dangerous it is for her to use her magic and the last thing she wants is to turn into another version of Dorothy. I really admire the fact that she finally knows who she is and she knows her limits.
The Order kind of irritated me Yellow Brick War more than the other books. In the first they leave out a lot of very important information about what they’re asking Amy to do when training her for her mission. They let her in more and more in the second book, but start up again in the third. It really irks me after all Amy has done for them, after all the danger she’s put herself in for their cause. She’s ripped from her life in Kansas, not that her life was the greatest, and they take advantage of her again and again. It’s never really care if they even care about her at all, except for Nox of course because what’s a good action/adventure story without a forbidden love affair? Nox is the only one that really shows that he cares about Amy, but even he keeps vital information from her. She’s the main freaking character and without her none of these plans can be put into action. It seems only fair to me that she should know the whole extent of what she’s volunteering for. The Order doesn’t think so and it really pisses me off. They treat her like a child when she’s in just as much danger as the rest of them.
Other than my frustration with another cliff hanger and the superiority complex The Order seems to have I really liked Yellow Brick War. The story just got crazier and crazier the further I got into the book with an explosive ending. I might actually die waiting for the forth book that’s unnamed and has no known date of release. I seriously suggest the Dorothy Must Die series to any reader who likes a little or a lot of action and a very creative twist on the Wizard of Oz.
Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

