The Wicked Will Rise – Danielle Paige

Summary:
My name is Amy Gumm-and I’m the other girl from Kansas.
After a tornado swept through my trailer park, I ended up in Oz. But it wasn’t like the Oz I knew from books and movies. Dorothy had returned, and she was stealing magic from the land. The Wizard was back, too. Even Glinda could no longer be called the Good Witch. And the Wicked Witches who were left? They had joined forces as the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked. They gave me a mission:
Kill Dorothy.
Except my job as assassin didn’t work out as planned. Dorothy is still alive. The Order has vanished. And the home I couldn’t wait to leave behind might be in danger.
Now I have to:
Find Dorothy.
Destroy the yellow brick.
Save my home.
18602341Review:
Holy fucking cliff hanger. I hate them with a fiery passion. Yeah, I get that they make an impact on the story, but if I didn’t already have the third book to this series I’d be freaking out even more. The Wicked Will Rise was just as good as the first book in the series, which I’ve already reviewed if you want to check it out.
This story is sort of based off The Wizard of Oz. It’s a very creative and unique adaptation of the original story. I love fairytale stories. But I love modern day adaptations even more, especially this one. It’s such a different kind of twist on the original story. Each page has me wanting more and more. Like I said, I’m very glad I already bought the third book in the series or I’d probably lose my mind. The way Danielle Paige writes is just to my liking. She describes everything in a way that I can picture it, except the obvious totally fantastical places like Rainbow Falls. But even those settings are wonderfully described to a point where I can make my own image of them. I love authors that give me those kind of details, I feel like I’m getting the whole story.
Amy Gumm, the main character in this story. She learns magic and how to fight with and without it in the first book to this series. In this book, she starts to learn what kind of witch she really is and who she really is. She’s learned that she doesn’t really belong in Kansas anymore, Oz is her home now. But even more so she learns that her magic can have a dark side and that she doesn’t want to be that dark wicked witch. She learns that she doesn’t like the dark side of magic and continues to try to be good and to do good. I love Amy even more in this book because we see her grow more into her magic and become more confident. We get to watch her struggle with the fight between the dark and the good and see her try her hardest to stay good.
The next character I really loved in this book was Nox. He was in the first book but I didn’t mention him much because I wasn’t really sure how I felt about him. Now I think I love him. He’s lost for a good part of The Wicked Will Rise. But when he’s finally found, it’s well worth the wait. He’s spent his time being lost thinking about Amy and their mission as part of the The Revolutionary Order of the Wicked. The first thing he does when Amy finds him is the perfectly right thing. Of course I won’t tell you what that thing was. That would be giving too much away. I’m very excited to see where the next book takes Nox and the rest of The Order.
The Wicked Will Rise was an excellent sequel to Dorothy Must Die. Except for the cliff hanger of course, because I hate those, regardless of that it was an awesome book. I can’t wait to see what adventures these characters go on in the next book, Yellow Brick War. I’m not positive that it’s the last book in the series, but I’m hoping because I don’t want to wait for the next one to come out. This is definitely a series I would recommend to any older young adult reader, there’s lots of language not suitable for the younger young adult. I loved these books, I hope you will too.
Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

