Dorothy Must Die – Danielle Paige

Summary:
I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.
But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado-taking you with it-you have no choice but to go alone, you know?
Sure I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. But I never expected Oz to look like this. A place where Good Witches can’t be trusted and Wicked Witches just might be the good guys. A place where even the yellow brick road is crumbling.
What happened? Dorothy.
My name is Amy Gumm-and I’m the other girl from Kansas. I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked, and I’ve been given a mission:
Remove the Tin Woodman’s heart.
Steal the Scarecrow’s brain.
Take the Lion’s courage,
And then-
Dorothy must die.
18053060Summary:
A friend of mine read Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige a few years ago and ranted and raved to me about it. For some reason I never took her up on the suggestion until now. Dorothy Must Die was one of my many recent Barnes and Noble purchases. I moved about a month ago and now the bookstore is literally across the street from where I live which is really dangerous to my bank account. Thankfully, there’s a library a few doors down from the bookstore. So I’ve been making use of both places.
Dorothy Must Die was a refreshing young adult story. It’s definitely meant for the older young adult, partially because of the language used and partially because of Amy Gumm’s mission. This book was refreshing for a few reasons. The first was the story itself. It’s a very unique spin on The Wizard of Oz, sort of an ‘after’ story. And it does not go where you expect it will. Amy gets dropped into Oz very much like Dorothy did, but instead of a wicked witch to fight, Dorothy herself is the problem. She’s gone mad with power. It’s a twist on The Wizard of Oz that I really enjoyed.
The next refreshing part of this story was the main character, Amy Gumm. She’s a girl from a small town who gets picked on and bullied in school constantly. Once she’s dropped into Oz she’s immediately known as another girl from ‘The Other Place’, like Dorothy. Once Dorothy meets her she’s sentenced to “a fate worse than death.” But Amy isn’t going to sit back and just let it happen. She’s rescued and her world continues to be turned upside down. The Revolutionary Order of the Wicked saves her from Dorothy’s prison where she’s trained to fight as well as learns to do magic. All with the end goal of killing Dorothy and putting Oz back to how it’s supposed to be. The witches that train Amy are all pretty hilarious. I really enjoyed the fact that somehow the villains have become the sort of good guys. They all know and are proud of their wickedness, and they never claim to be the good guys, just better than Dorothy.
Dorothy Must Die was written well, along with its very amusing story. The Wicked Witches live in a mountain that’s full of caves. The way that Danielle Paige describes the caves is so good that I can picture them perfectly in my head as I followed them in the story. That’s something that’s important to me. Yes, I need to love the characters, but I also really like to know where they are and what’s going on around them and Paige definitely succeeded with that.
So overall I basically loved this book. The only complaint I have is that Amy was left without so many important details. She was the one who was given the mission to kill Dorothy, so why wasn’t she given all the details of the plan? That just didn’t seem right to me, but I’m sure it was done to leave the reader in suspense, which it definitely did. I would suggest this book to anyone who likes creative twists on classic stories. I really liked this book and I’m super glad I bought the second one at the same time as the first. I can’t wait to read about where Danielle Paige takes Amy Gumm next.
Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

