Antonia’s Top Ten Tuesday- Child Characters I’d Like to See as Adults and Vice Versa

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the wonderful The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s prompt is “Ten Childhood Characters You’d Love To Revisit As Adults (ie a novella or something to see what they grew up to be) — you could always just pick YA characters you’ve read recently you wouldn’t mind revisiting in 10 years or so. Or you could pick 10 characters and guess what you think they’d be doing in 10 years or 20 years. OR you could go the other way and wish for coming of age stories for adult characters you love.” For my post I’m going to use a little bit of everything.

4b6b0-toptentuesday

  1. Matilda from Matilda by Roald Dahl– Matilda was one of the books that really got me into reading. She’s such a strong, independent character, even as a child and I don’t doubt that she grew into a badass woman.
  2. Sophie from The BFG by Roald Dahl- I need to include the BFG in this one because during the book the form such an adorable friendship and I’d love to know how amazing their lives were after the book ended.
  3. Idalia from The Obsidian Trilogy by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory- Though she’s an important part of the entire series, we don’t meet Idalia until she’s in her twenties and already knows pretty much everything she wants in her life. We learn how she was banished from the city of her birth, lived as an eagle for years, lived with elves, then finally settled in a little cabin; all while growing up and learning magic. I would absolutely LOVE a book about all her adventures in a little more detail.
  4. All of Jane Austen’s Characters- And yes, I know that hundreds of books have been written about her characters. Either adaptations of her actual books or continuations with the same characters or really basically anything you could possibly think of. What I want is to have sequels of each of her books written by Jane Austen herself. Someone invent time travel, quick.
  5. The Weasleys from Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling- Really anything written by her, either future or past would be welcome. But I think the Weasley family were some of the funnest/ eccentric characters I’ve ever read about and I’d love to watch all of them as children.
  6. Kiron and Akketen from The Dragon Jousters by Mercedes Lackey- Though the series ended well and there were no loose ends left to tie up, the characters had just ended a war and thrown two nations into chaos. They were starting to build a new city and culture and I want to see how their lives and their new society would look twenty years later.

Well I think that’s all I can come up with. Thanks for reading and let me know your own choices in the comments.

-Antonia

Have any thoughts?

