The Glittering Court – Richelle Mead

Summary:
Big and sweeping, spanning from the refined palaces of Osfrid to the gold dust and untamed forests of Adoria, The Glittering Court tells the story of Adelaide, an Osfridian countess who poses as her servant to escape an arranged marriage and start a new life in Adoria, the New World. But to do that, she must join the Glittering Court.
Both a school, and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. Adelaide naturally excels in her training, and even makes a few friends: the fiery former laundress Tamsin and the beautiful Sirminican refugee Mira. She manages to keep her true identity hidden from all but one: the intriguing Cedric Thorn, son of the wealthy proprietor of the Glittering Court.
When Adelaide discovers that Cedric is hiding a dangerous secret of his own, together they hatch a scheme to make the best of Adelaide’s deception. Complications soon arise-first as they cross the treacherous seas from Osfrid to Adoria, and then when Adelaide catches the attention of a powerful governor.
But no complication will prove quite as daunting as the potent attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. An attraction that, if acted on, would scandalize the Glittering Court and make them both outcasts in wild, vastly uncharted lands…

27272506Review:
Oh my god, I loved this book. I started it late last night before I went to bed and stopped after a few chapters before I could get sucked in and stay up all night reading it. Instead I spent my whole Sunday off reading The Glittering Court and I don’t regret it in the least. I bought this book recently because Richelle Mead is an autobuy author for me. I’ve read pretty much everything she’s written and loved it all. So I knew it wouldn’t be any different with this book.
The Glittering Court had an old time english feel to it. It reminded me a bit of the story of how America was founded. Settlers moved to a New World so they could create a better life for themselves and all that. It even had the dispute over religious views as well. Osfrid’s solution to the differing views of religion was to ship those that believed differently off to the New World. I really liked the fantasy aspect of The Glittering Court. It takes place in completely fictional places, but they sound so realistic and they can be related to my country’s history that it gives the story realness when the country’s mentions don’t exist at all. I liked that about this book, that even though it’s in a fantasy world, it was very easy to visualize and imagine how things take place in these foreign places.
I absolutely adored Adelaide. She’s a countess who is being forced into an arranged marriage because her family’s wealth has run out; a situation I would surely run from myself. So when she finds an out through an offer to one of her servants, she jumps for it. Adelaide is written as a girl who’s very strong minded and has an opinion about everything. Living in the times that she does, women aren’t supposed to have opinions and if they do, they certainly shouldn’t voice them. She has a tendency to voice her opinion whether she should or not, though in her defense there are many times where she would like to say many things but refrains from doing so.
While Adelaide is at the Glittering Court she makes friends with the two girls that she arrived with, Tamsin and Mira. Tamsin was the girl that had to prove she was number one. She worked the hardest too. She was the most determined and didn’t let anything or anyone get in her way. I really like Tamsin because of her persistence and determination. She had to overcome a lot in this book and she really proved that she is a great friend and just an all around good person.
Mira is the third roommate. Mira is the mysterious one, the one who everyone singles out because her skin is darker than the other girls. She never lets that stop her though. I like Mira very much because, like Tamsin, she was determined. But unlike Tamsin, Mira was determined to do whatever she wanted. She would sneak out at night to do god knows what. She was always surrounded by mystery, never telling her roommates where she was going or what she was doing. Mira stood up for her friends when the other girls tried to mess with them and they did the same for her. I really like the friendship between these three; it was a nice addition to the romantic majority of the book.
The only thing I didn’t like about The Glittering Court was the lack of details about the girls. I still want to know what Mira was doing out on the town all hours of the night. I want to know what happens next to these two girls that I’ve grown attached to in this book. I just need more from Richelle Mead. I hope there is a sequel to The Glittering Court.
Last I’ll mention Cedric, the unexpected love story. From the start of this book when Cedric ended up in Adelaide’s house trying to convince one of her servants to come with him and join the Glittering Court I knew he was going to play a big part in this story and boy was I right. Between his secret and him being the only one that knows Adelaide’s secret some kind of craziness was bound to happen. I’m not going to spoil any of the details; you’ll have to read the book for those. But I will say that I loved Cedric, he was always there when Adelaide felt like she was going to fall apart and her cover was going to be blown. He proved time and time again that he’s a genuinely good guy and I’m very happy with the way his story turned out. Like I said, I really hope there will be a sequel to this book so I can read more about these characters.
If you liked or read any of Richelle Mead’s other books I definitely suggest you go to your local library or bookstore and pick up this book and fly through it’s wonderful pages just like I did.
Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

