Between the Sea and Sky – Jaclyn Dolamore

Summary:
For as long as Esmerine can remember, she has longed to join her older sister, Dosia, as a siren-the highest calling a mermaid can have. When Esmerine takes her siren’s vow, she means to protect the sea and all that lives within it-until Dosia runs away to the mainland and Esmerine is sent to retrieve her.
Secretly thrilled with the prospect of seeing a world that she’s only glimpsed from the ocean, Esmerine uses magic to transform her tail into legs and journeys to the capital city. There, she comes upon a friend she hasn’t seen since childhood-a dashing young man named Alander, who belongs to a winged race of people. Alander, whose odd ways and brash opinions offend yet fascinate her. But as Esmerine embarks of a search for her sister that will take her further away from the sea she loves and the life she has always known, she and Alander rekindle a friendship…and more.
With subtly echoes of Pride and Prejudice, this story of star-crossed lovers is Jaclyn Dolamore at her very best.
9583173Review:
So recently I moved away from my home state and transferred my job to work in a different store. I only mention this because this book, Between the Sea and Sky by Jaclyn Dolamore, was a going away gift from one of my coworkers. She have me two books and this is the first on that I read. I’m going to read the second book next. I actually almost didn’t even bother to review this book. Not because it was bad, but because it’s just such a short book. I started it on my lunch break at work today, which is 45 minutes long. When I picked it up to continue reading it after I got home, I realized that I was already halfway through it. I’m not sure if that’s because it was such a short book or if it’s because the story line hooked me.
That’s probably the only thing I really loved about Between the Sea and Sky, the story line. The book is about a mermaid, Esmerine, who goes in search of her sister, Dosia, who has disappeared after telling Esmerine about meeting some human boys on the island. While on the adventure of finding her sister she finds her childhood friend Alander, who goes by Alan now. As soon as Alan came into the picture I knew there would be some kind of love struggle between the two. Alan was a winged person, which was really hard to picture because there wasn’t that much description about him or what his wings looked like. The two travel to a few different places together trying to find Esmerine’s sister. While on their travels, they both realize the seriousness of their feelings for the other. Of course they both try to fight it because of their different species, even though mermaids can give themselves to a human if they choose to do so. Alan didn’t want to make her do anything. I liked both of the main characters, but feel like they could have been developed so much more. I just didn’t seem to get as attached to them as I usually do with the main characters in most of the books I read.
As I mentioned, I loved the story line. A love affair between a mermaid and a winged person; childhood friends that should have always been together, what a great storyline. I just think the author could have done so much more with this story idea. I feel like it was kept very simple when it could and should have been such an amazing story. There were so many details left out, so many settings and moments within this story that could have been expounded upon. I’m just a bit disappointed with the lack of detail in this book. This story had so much potential to be a new favorite book of mine, except it wasn’t written as it could be. While I am disappointed with the lack of descriptions about many of the places the story takes place in it was still a good story. I was fairly amused with the banter between the characters. I liked them all well enough.
Overall I probably won’t read this book again for quite a while, but it was a good and amusing quick read. I won’t demand that you go buy it now like I do for many other books that I read, but if you find it at the library and you’re looking for a quick read, this definitely was for me. I liked it, but I’m not over the moon about it.
Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

