Top Ten Tuesday – Not My Typical Genre

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly post where we give our top ten choices on different topics, hosted by THE BROKE AND THE BOOKISH. This week’s topic is top ten books you’ve read the past year that aren’t your typical genre. This Tuesday I had a bit of trouble coming up with books. I have a tendency to stay inside my comfort zone. Generally when I read books that aren’t my usual it’s because it was recommended to me by someone in my life. Here are my top ten books that aren’t my usual genre.

4b6b0-toptentuesday

  1. The Secret by Rhonda Byrne – This was recommended to me by several people in my life and though it took me a while to finally pick it up and read it, I’m glad I did. While it’s not my usual fiction, it was really interesting and eye opening. I’ve recommended it to many others now that I’ve read it.
  2. The Alchemist by Paul Coelho- I got this book as a gift. It’s another book that sat on my shelf staring at me until I finally picked it up. The Alchemist was a really good, quick read. The story was very good and I’m glad I finally gave it a chance.
  3. Outlander by Diana Gaboldon- Antonia’s mother recommended and let me borrow this book. It’s definitely not a book I would have ever picked up on my own. I still need to finish the rest of the series.
  4. Carrie by Stephen King- Carrie was another gift from someone. I’d never read anything by him before this book, but I might read more of his stuff after reading Carrie.
  5. Wideacre by Phillipa Gregory- I read this trilogy on the recommendation and lending of a coworker. They were definitely not my usual romance that I was anticipating when I started reading, but they were super good reads.
  6. The Year We Disappeared by Cylin and John Busby- My grandmother lent me this book. It’s a true story that takes place in my hometown. It was really interesting to learn about something that happened in my area.
  7. Forgive Me Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick- I bought this book from Barnes&Noble. I was standing in the young adult section looking around for something new to read when I overheard someone talking to a friend about John Green books. I quickly interjected and told them to buy all of them and read them as fast as possible. They in tern told me to buy this book.
  8. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith- This is a book that Antonia read and then made me read. It isn’t one I would have picked on my own. The description was a little too young adult for me.
  9. Eon by Alison Gooman- This was another recommendation from Antonia. She read it and then made me read it. It was an awesome book and I’m glad she pushed me to read it.
  10. The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima- Antonia made me read this series too. We pass a lot of books back and forth. It took me over a year to actually start the book, but it was worth it. I now own all four and have read them all more than once.

These are my top ten, what are yours?

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

