The Storyteller – Antonia Michaelis

Summary:
Anna and Abel couldn’t be more different. They are both seventeen and in their last year of school, but while Anna lives in a nice old town house and comes from a well-to-do family, Abel, the school drug dealer, lives in a big, prison like tower block at the edge of town. Anna is afraid of him until she realizes that he is caring for his six-year-old sister on his own. Fascinated, Anna follows the two and listens as Abel tells little Micha the story of a tiny queen assailed by dark forces. It’s a beautiful fairy tale that Anna comes to see has a basis in reality. Abel is in real danger of losing Micha to their abusive father and to his own inability to make ends meet. Anna gradually falls in love with Abel, but when his “enemies” begin to turn up dead, she fears she has fallen for a murderer. Has she?
Award-winning author Antonia Michaelis moves in a bold new direction with her latest novel: a dark, haunting, contemporary story that is part mystery, part romance, and part melodrama.

Review:
The Storyteller by Antonia Michaelis was another one from my library haul. I loved this book, but I also hated this book. As soon as I started reading I was hooked. There were so many things I liked about this book. It had a fairy-tale theme. Most of the book focused on Abel telling Anna and his younger sister, Micha, a made up story that we find out is loosely based on real life events and people. I really liked the fairy-tale aspect of the story in the beginning. It’s creative and kept me interested. I spent most of the book guessing about what was going to happen next. There was a significant amount of foreshadowing, so much so that I thought the book had an easy and obvious plot. I thought my assumptions were right and I knew exactly what was going on. Michaelis proved me very wrong when I got to the ending of the book. The conclusion to The Storyteller is the reason I also hated this book. Every assumption I had made was wrong, and I was shocked and very unhappy about the truth.
Anna was a pretty likable character. The only thing I didn’t like about her was that sometimes she just did really stupid things. She definitely isn’t the smartest main character I’ve read about. She doesn’t always make the best choices and it was slightly annoying. The innocent quality that Michaelis gives Anna helped me get over her stupid moments. Something I didn’t understand was that Anna calls both her parents by their first names, then I realized this book wasn’t originally written in English. I absolutely adored Anna’s parents. They were totally and completely supportive of her every action. They let her do her own thing for the most part. The gave her the perfect amount of independence.
Abel Tannatek was a character I immediately fell in love with. He seemed like the typical moody male main character that slowly accepted and fell for the pushy female lead, until I kept reading and realized that he was so much more than that. Abel was a very believable character. I never thought The Storyteller would end the way it did because I loved Abel so much. There were a few times where I changed my mind about him. He did a few less than desirable things through the story, but his words were always to convincing. He is someone I definitely never want to meet because it just wouldn’t end well for me. Abel broke my heart right along with Anna’s when the secrets were revealed.
This is definitely a book EVERYONE needs to read. Well, the older young adult readers. There are a few parts that I wouldn’t want my younger sister to read about. So this is definitely an older age group book. The storyteller was written wonderfully and I loved and hated almost every page. I’m glad I read it and I’d definitely like to read more books by Antonia Michaelis.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

