Antonia’s Top Ten Tuesday- Cover Trends I Like/Dislike

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s prompt is top ten cover trends you like or dislike most. I’ve decided to do a mix of both.

 

Cover Trends I Like

1. Pretty Dresses-

When it comes to clothes and shoes, I am such a girly-girl. I love wearing dresses and wish I ever had occasions to wear the beautiful ballgowns and evening dresses I see so often on book covers.

ruby red bewitching alex

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Dark with a Splash of Color- 

I don’t know what it is about these covers that intrigues me, but I think the contrast between the dark or gray-scale and that pop of color is striking.

dark visions city of ahses

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Dragons-

I’ve always been fascinated by dragons and seeing one on a book will make me instantly pick it up and read the description.

Eon sanctuary

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. A Simple, Title-Only Cover-
It doesn’t have to be completely blank, but covers that only have a simple design around the title make me want to know what the book’s about since the cover doesn’t tell me anything.
eternity curetfios

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. One Object that Connects to the Book-
It’s easy for me to imagine what the characters look like and my vision of them doesn’t usually match how they look on the cover. I love when, instead of showing the main character(s), a cover has a design of an object that’s important to the books plot.
demon kingscarlet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover Trends I Dislike

6. Partial Faces-

I really just don’t understand this trend at all. Whether its book covers, movie posters, selfies, etc. What’s the point in showing half a face?
deliriumvampire-diaries-the-return-nightfall

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. Cartoons-
I don’t want to feel like I’m reading a children’s book when I’m not in the children’s section. (Note: I have nothing against Rainbow Rowell or these books. I’ve heard good things about them, I just couldn’t think of any other cartoon covers off the top of my head.)
eleanor & parkfangirl

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8. Rainbow or Clashing Colors-
I find covers with tons of colors or with colors that don’t work well together (or even just one color that I don’t like) distracting.
little miss redperks of

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9. Busy Covers-
If there’s too much going on, I feel like the book is going to be chaotic. When I’m trying to scan shelves quickly, I don’t want to have to take five minutes to figure out what’s on the cover. Also, if the title font is hard to read. I know fancy fonts are pretty, but if I can’t read it easily it sort of defeats the purpose.
dreams of gods and monstersdash and lily

One response to “Antonia’s Top Ten Tuesday- Cover Trends I Like/Dislike

Have any thoughts?

