Inside Out – Maria V. Snyder

Summary:
I’m Trella. I’m a scrub. A nobody. One of thousands who work the lower levels, keeping Inside clean for the Uppers. I’ve got one friend, do my job and try to avoid the Pop Cops. So what if I occasionally use the pipes to sneak around the Upper levels? The only neck at risk is my own…until I accidentally start a rebellion and become the go-to girl to lead a revolution.

Review:
I saw this book at the library and it’s author, Maria V. Snyder, caught my eye. I’ve read quite a few of her books and have really enjoyed them all. I figured this book would be another by her that I loved. This story, Trella’s story was interesting. I found that I had a hard time actually getting into this book until fifty or so pages in. This is strange for me because I’m normally immediately sucked into the story. With Inside Out I had a harder time getting attached to to story and the characters. I think this is because this book reminds me of another with a sort of similar story line. After the first fifty pages, I found that I got really into the story. I just wanted to know what was going to happen next. Inside out is full of suspense and action.
As for the characters, there are so many. Trella, such a smart, clever, strong girl. This is our strong female lead, and that’s exactly what she is. She leads her fellow scrubs to a new kind of life. One thing that bothered me about Trella was the way she isolated herself. She always thought she had to do everything by herself when that was the opposite of the truth. I really enjoyed watching Trella grow in this book.
Now, the rest of the gang. So, there’s Cog, Jacy, Logan and Anna-Jade. This small group is what makes Trella so strong. The support of these awesome characters. I loved seeing Trella realize that she had gained these friendships. These characters were all ones I enjoyed, always being supportive and as helpful as possible to their friend.
And Riley. I wasn’t sure how to feel about him at all throughout this book. At the very end of the book I decided that I like him a little bit. I also think he’s good for Trella. I’m really excited to see where this relationship goes in the sequel.
I think any young adult reader would like this book. It’s simple, with an interesting story line.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

