Pandemonium – Lauren Oliver

Summary:
I’m pushing aside the memory of my nightmare, pushing aside thoughts of Alex, pushing aside thoughts of Hana and my old school, push, push, push, like Raven taught me to do. The old life is dead. But the old Lena is dead too. I buried her. I left her beyond a fence, behind a wall of smoke and flame.

Review:
I’m sitting here trying to think of what to say about this book and all I can think is, “What the fuck just happened?!” Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver was a very interesting book. The second in the Delirium trilogy was much more fast paced than the first. There’s always something happening. I flew through these pages needing to know what happened next. Even now, I’m having a little trouble focusing on writing this when I have Requiem sitting right in front of me. So much happens in these pages. Good and bad, crazy and chaotic and I loved every page.
Lena finds herself in the Wilds. She is absolutely not the same girl as she was at the beginning of this trilogy. She’s become stronger emotionally, more determined. Lena no longer takes shit from anyone and I loved seeing this change in her. She spends most of the book trying to forget or block out the memories of her loved ones that are now in her past. This is something she struggles with throughout the entire book, right up until the very last page. She has lost quite a bit but she knows that she has a new life now. Her life in the Wilds isn’t what you would call easy, but Lena does her part and doesn’t complain too much. I really enjoyed seeing Lena live her life in a completely new and different environment. I liked seeing her grow with everything she deals with. She is a very resourceful girl. Lena’s strong willed, feisty, and seriously sassy. I definitely liked Lena better in Pandemonium.
Raven, Tack, Hunter, Sarah, and Blue have become Lena’s new makeshift family. Fellow “Invalids” they help Lena when she firsts arrives on the other side of the fence. They take her in and she becomes one of them. I wasn’t sure how I felt about some of these characters at first. But I’ve decided that I love them all. I really liked how developed their stories were. How well we got to know them in these pages. I feel like many authors focus more on the main characters and I liked how involved the secondary characters became.
Now, to talk about Julian. I don’t like him. Well, that’s not entirely true. I didn’t like him at first. But he seemed to grow on me. He’s still totally not my first choice, but I tolerate him. He reminded me very much of Lena in the first book. He was ignorant to how wrong their government is and by the end of the book he’s realized this. I think the only reason I ended up liking him more was because he realized that his father and the government are wrong. He’s so unsure of himself most of the time and that was kind of annoying, but he becomes more confident at the end of the book. Julian was not my favorite at all, but I’m curious to see what part he’s going to play in the last book.
Pandemonium has no lack of action or fighting scenes, but there’s also romance and suspense. I don’t think I could say that I liked either the first or second book better. The two were pretty different, which I really liked. I seem to find that with a lot of series’ the sequels are pretty much exactly the same at the first. As I said in my review of Delirium, all of you fellow readers need to go out and get these books now so that you can feel like I do right now.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

2 responses to “Pandemonium – Lauren Oliver

Have any thoughts?

