Delirium – Lauren Oliver

Summary:
Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient. It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

Review:
I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book for quite a long time. My library finally had all three books in the trilogy so I figured now was my chance to finally read them. Let me tell you, I was not disappointed in the least. Our main character, Magdalena, was one that I really enjoyed getting to know. When I started the books I didn’t think I was going to like Lena that much, and it almost ruined the book for me. I’m very happy to say that I was wrong and I absolutely adored her. She reminded me a bit of myself in the beginning. Always doing exactly as she’s told, just trying to follow the rules and go on with her life. Until Lena meets Alex and her whole world changes. I was infatuated with Alex from the first time we saw him. I knew I was going to see him again and I knew I was going to love him forever. The change that I saw in Lena after she meets Alex was such a good one. Before she’s really unsure of herself, always second guessing her every thought. She doubts everything she does and says and that really bothered me. Lena was very insecure before she met Alex, mostly because of their screwed up government. After Alex though, Lena gains so much self confidence. She believes in herself and her love for Alex. I really loved seeing Lena grow into a more confident young woman and start to make her own choices instead of following all the rules. Alex was a mystery in the beginning. I wasn’t sure what part he played in Lena’s story, until I read more. I loved seeing Lena and Alex together. He treated her like such a princess. The pair were so good for each other. And I just love him so much.
The world that Oliver has created was a very interesting one. I really liked the uniqueness of this story. It was something I hadn’t read before and that was really nice. A futuristic world where they have decided that love is a sickness that needs to be cured. I think my favorite part about the story line was what the characters were saying about our present time. Apparently we’re all idiots and need to be cured. The story was relatively fast paced with some slow points. I loved every page. I’m really excited to see where this story goes next.
I’d suggest these books to, well, everyone. Go to your local library or bookstore. Buy these books, and love them as much as I do.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

