The Iron Fey Series – Julie Kagawa

Hello fellow readers!
I just finished The Iron Fey series. There’s four books in this series. I couldn’t seem to stop myself from picking up the next book as soon as I finished one. So I’m going to review all four books together in this post.

Summary:
The Faery realms have always weathered the clash of Summer and Winter fey, the Seelie and Unseelie Courts. Now a new breed of faery has emerged to challenge both… to their peril. Forged by Man’s insatiable pursuit of technological superiority, the terrifying Iron fey are massing…and the fate of all faeries hangs in the balance. The greatest weapon in this epic magical war? A half-human teenage girl.

Review:
The first thing I noticed about this book was the descriptions. Julie Kagawa absolutely has a way with words. The imagery that was in this book was amazing. I loved being able to picture all of the places these characters visited. These were very fast paced books, with lots of action. The main character, Meghan Chase, was one that I really admired. She’s passionate, strong and determined. The series starts off with Meghan trying to rescue her younger brother who’s been kidnapped by the fey. Meghan would do anything for the people she cares about. As the books go on she does anything and everything in her power to protect the important people in her life. She seems to do a really good job of getting herself into dangerous and crazy situations. She does an even better job of getting herself and her loved ones safely out of these situations. All while saving the day in the process. Meghan is a wonderful strong female lead and I loved reading her story.
Meghan’s best friend Robbie, who is actually Robin Goodfellow also known as Puck, was a great addition to these books. He added hilarity as well as chaos. I loved Puck, but I also hated him. He is hopelessly in love with Meghan and she doesn’t see it until she’s fallen in love with someone else. I felt really sorry for Puck in this aspect. Pinning after a girl that would never love him. Although Puck was funny and someone I really enjoyed reading about, he had a tendency to piss me off. There were a lot of things he kept secret from Meghan that when we found out about them, I just wanted to punch him in the face. One thing I will say about Puck is that he tries to be a good friend. He’s always there for his friends even when they don’t want him there. He’s stubborn and sometimes annoying, but he always means well. I liked Puck, but not as much as other characters.
Ash, the Winter Prince of the Unseelie Court, was such an infuriating character. Don’t get me wrong, I love Ash so much and if he was real I would find him and make him love me. But he was a real pain in the ass sometimes. He tried his best to be the cold, emotionless winter prince that everyone saw him as. I just wanted him to be himself. He spent so much time in the first two books trying to ignore his feelings for Meghan. He was always too ready to give her up. This really frustrated me. He’s so unwilling to try to find a way for them to be together, I just wanted to smack him. I have to admit, Ash stepped up later in the books. Ash was one of my favorite characters. As we get to know him better he shows us that he is another character who will do anything to take care of his loved ones any way he knows how. This is something he proves countless times. Toward the end of the third book Ash really shows Meghan how much he’s willing to give up for her. Even though The Iron Queen doesn’t end in the happiest way for the couple, the fourth book makes up for it. The Iron Knight is told from Ash’s perspective unlike the first three told from Meghan’s. I think the fourth book was my favorite because of this. I loved getting to know Ash much better in the last book. His thoughts and his feelings are something we actually get to see and I really enjoyed that. He literally goes to the end of the world to try to find a way to be with Meghan, talk about a grand gesture. Ash really shows his stubbornness and determination as well as many other things. I just loved Ash so much.
The last thing I’m going to mention that I loved about this story was the story itself. Kagawa really outdid herself with this series. Yes, there are quite a number of books out there about faeries, but the unique twists in these books had me captivated. There were so many surprises in this series that I had a really hard time putting the books down. The Iron Fey series was beautifully written with it’s own special twists. This is definitely a series that can be interesting to a wide range of readers. You like action? Kagawa gives you action. Romance, humor, suspense? She’s put all that into these four books.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

