Antonia’s Top Ten Tuesday- Literary Children’s Names

4b6b0-toptentuesday
This week’s prompt for the Top Ten Tuesday meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is Rewind. You get to pick from any past topic they’ve done. Like we did for a past rewind, Amanda and I decided to do each other’s topics. My choice is Top Ten Characters or Literary Figures I Would Name My Children After. Here’s our choices:

Antonia’s Picks
Although I might not name my children after all of these names to avoid them being made fun of in school, in an ideal world where that wasn’t a possibility I would love to give my future children any one of these names.
1. Raisa from The Seven Realms series by Cinda Williams Chima- I adore this name and the character. She was such a strong character that I admired very much. I would love to give my future daughter a strong namesake.
2. Idalia from the Obsidian Mountain Trilogy by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory- Another admirable heroine. As a side benefit, my grandmother’s name is Ida so I could also commemorate her in this way.
3. Soteria from Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon- I think this name is beautiful and love the nickname, Tori.
4. Brenna from the Gallaghers of Ardmore Trilogy by Nora Roberts- I love Irish names. This one is pretty and strong at the same time.
5. Arya from The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini- I’ve loved this name since the first time I read Eragon.
6. Jane for Jane Austen- I would love to name my daughter after such a prominent literary figure.
7. Georgiana from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen- I think this name is gorgeous.
8. Bryony from The Outcast of Redwall by Brian Jacques- This was the first Redwall book I read and they meant so much to me as a child. I think the name is beautiful (even if the bryony flower isn’t all that pretty).
9. Fitzwilliam from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen- I don’t think I could ever love another character more than I love Fitzwilliam Darcy. He’s such a strong, intelligent character. I would love to name my son after him even if it’s just as a middle name.
10. Benedict from An Offer from a Gentleman by Julia Quinn- I’ve always loved this name. It’s strong and noble.

Amanda’s Picks
1. Alaska from Looking for Alaska by John Green- This is my favorite book ever, which if any of you actually read what I post you should know this already. It’s often translated “that which the sea breaks against,” and I just think that’s beautiful.
2. Hazel Grace from The Fault in Our Stars by John Green- I just think this name is so pretty. If I could have a daughter that’s even half the person Hazel is, I’d be blessed.
3. Beatrice from Divergent by Veronica Roth- I’m actually not a huge fan of the name Beatrice but I absolutely adore the nickname she’s given in the book, Tris. If I named my daughter Beatrice it would be so that I could give her the nickname Tris.
4. Tobias from Divergent by Veronica Roth- I just loved everything about Four even his name.
5. Jasmine from Aladdin- Aladdin has always been my favorite Disney movie. I’ve always loved Jasmine.
6. Kaeleigh from Identical by Ellen Hopkins- I just love this name. It’s unique in its spelling and it’s just such a pretty name.
7. Sebastian from 10 Things I Love About You by Julia Quinn- For some reason I have always loved the name Sebastian. I knew this had to be on my list.
8. Jessamine from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare- Although I didn’t really like Jessamine as a character, I really liked her name. It’s very feminine.
9. Schuyler from Blue Bloods by Melissa De La Cruz- It’s pronounced Skyler. This is a name I’ve always loved. I also really enjoy the different way of spelling the name.
10. Dimitri from The Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead- I’m not sure if I’ll ever actually name my son Dimitri, but it’s absolutely going to be on the list.

We’d love to hear what kind of bookish names you would give to your own future children (or might have already given). Let us know what you think in the comment box.
-Antonia and Amanda

One response to “Antonia’s Top Ten Tuesday- Literary Children’s Names

  • lilajune

    My husband doesn’t know it but I’ve pre named all our future children from names I found in books *Lilly from HP ( he actually picked this one) *Rowan from The Witching Hour *Asher/Ash …I first saw this in some obscure fantasy book I can’t recall but it’s all over the place now… Every name I’ve ever loved came out of some book ; )

Have any thoughts?

