Outlander – Diana Gabaldon

Summary:
In 1945, Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon-when she innocently touches a boulder in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach-an “outlander”- in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of our lord…1743.
Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire’s destiny is soon inextricably intertwined with Clan MacKenzie and the forbidding Castle Leoch. She is catapulted without warning into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life…and shatter her heart. For here, James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a passion so fierce and a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire…and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

Review:
This eight hundred fifty page book took so much out of me. It took mostly time to read the pages, but also little pieces of my heart. Outlander was a book that was almost forced upon me, by Antonia’s mother. She is a fellow reader, but I generally don’t like the same kinds of books as her. She made me take Outlander home and I’m very glad I read it.
This book was beautifully written. It is definitely a long book, but it was such a good one. The description of Scotland in the seventeen hundreds was amazing. A place I would totally love to go and visit. Outlander is told from the point of view of Claire, the outlander herself. Reading this story from Claire’s point of view was awesome. I felt like I was part of Claire’s life going through everything right along side of her. The title of this book, Outlander, fits our main character very well. It’s definition is an outsider or stranger and that’s exactly what Claire is when she finds herself in 1743.
I adored Claire. She proves herself more times than I can count in these pages. If I found myself two hundred years in the past, I probably would handle it nearly as well as Claire. She adjusts to this new life with a few bumps in the road but ends up fitting in fairly well. Claire is strong, brave, courageous, and an amazing main character. She loves fiercely and makes a point to protect what and who she loves.
Which brings me to Frank, Claire’s husband in the present. I really liked Frank from what I got to see of him. He loved his work and Claire. He was passionate about the things he enjoyed, even if he made himself look silly. I do wish that Frank could have played a larger part in this book and I’m hoping that I do get to read about him again later in the series.
Now to talk about Jamie. I LOVE HIM SO MUCH. I could go on about Jamie forever. He’s a Scottish version of that mysterious, handsome, strong man that you want to whisk you away in your dreams. I really enjoyed getting to know every side of Jamie in this story. He has this innocence about him that can turn to an almost scary intensity at times. He loves with all he has and would do anything to protect those in his life. Jamie is honorable, trustworthy, honest and so much more. He’s really just an all around good person.
Going into this book thinking that I wasn’t going to like it very much didn’t change the fact that Outlander was an amazing book. I think anyone that likes books needs to try this series. Even if you don’t think you’ll like it. I loved every page.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

