The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong

Goodreads Summary:Chloe Saunders is on the run
and raising hell. Literally.
Chloe Saunders is not your average supernatural teenager. Genetically altered at birth by a sinister team of scientists, she can barely control her terrifying powers. Now the team that created her has decided it’s time to end the experiment. Permanently.
Now Chloe is running for her life along with a charming sorcerer, a troubled werewolf and a temperamental young witch. Together they have a chance for freedom – but can Chloe trust her new friends?

I really can’t stress enough how much I love these books. As good as The Summoning was The Awakening was so much better. The action has picked up speed and so has the magic.
I love Chloe even more than I did after the first book. She’s become a bit of a badass. When shy, I-apologize-every-minute Chloe feels threatened, she turns into I-can-raise-the-dead-don’t-fuck-with-me Chloe. She’s fantastic. Her powers are growing and she’s figuring out how to use them. She’s done letting the Edison group get away with treating her and the other kids like shit and she’s done letting them do their experiments. She really steps up in this book against the Edison group and in trying to protect her friends.
Which leads me to Derek. Now I know they’re going to love each other forever even if they still don’t understand. It’s not their faults; they have a lot on their minds. But I have no doubt it’s going to happen and I absolutely can’t wait. They’re so perfect together I can’t believe no one sees it.
Next I’ll talk about the secondary characters again. There aren’t any new ones but the previous ones have drastically changed. I hate Rae. She really is just a stupid little bitch and I hope I don’t have to read about her again. Also, I sort of love Tori. She’s gotten over herself a lot. Her mom’s even crazier than she thought and she’s not stupid enough to stick around and see what happens. She stays with Chloe, Derek and Simon because they all have a common enemy but I think she and Chloe are actually beginning to care about each other and become friends. I can’t wait to read more about her in the next book.
What I liked in this book was getting to see Chloe and Derek trying to blend in with humans. I hadn’t thought about the fact it might be hard for them. I guessed Derek might have a hard time because he’s antisocial, but Chloe was fairly normal before Lyle house. However, at least for the foreseeable future, Chloe can’t tell the difference between a ghost and a living person unless they do something ghost-y like walk through walls. There was a part when Derek and Chloe get separated from the others and they’re trying to get food from a coffee shop. A woman comes up to Chloe and starts talking to her. It’s not until Chloe notices everyone laughing and whispering about her that she realizes the woman’s a ghost. I didn’t think how difficult it could be for her and I liked being able to see some of that in this book.
You can expect a review for The Reckoning, the conclusion to the Darkest Powers Trilogy, soon. I absolutely cannot wait to see how it ends. Let me know what you think and how your opinions might differ.
-Antonia

Have any thoughts?

