Emerald Green by Kerstin Gier

Goodreads Summary: Gwen has a destiny to fulfill, but no one will tell her what it is.
She’s only recently learned that she is the Ruby, the final member of the time-traveling Circle of Twelve, and since then nothing has been going right. She suspects the founder of the Circle, Count Saint-German, is up to something nefarious, but nobody will believe her. And she’s just learned that her charming time-traveling partner, Gideon, has probably been using her all along.
This stunning conclusion picks up where Sapphire Blue left off, reaching new heights of intrigue and romance as Gwen finally uncovers the secrets of the time-traveling society and learns her fate.

The only reason I picked up these books was because of the covers. Each one has the most gorgeous dress on it and I couldn’t keep myself from finding out what it was about. I loved the first two books in the Ruby Red trilogy and Emerald Green didn’t disappoint me. Everything was tied up perfectly, all my questions were answered, and there was a perfect mix of humor, suspense and action that I’ve come to expect from these books.
Since these books deal with time travel, there’s tons of information between the present and the past that can get pretty confusing. Gier filled in many of the blanks by providing information between chapters in the form of transcripts and articles from the Temple’s archives of the past. It really helped me to get a little bit more information because it drives me nuts when I don’t know any more than the characters do.
I’ll start with Gwyneth. I wasn’t sure how much I liked her at the beginning of the series. She’s fifteen so I know I can’t exactly expect constant maturity but her naiveté seriously irritated me. She got better in the second book and finally stepped up in the third and got the shit done that she needed to do. When I started the third book, I fully expected her to just lose all my respect. Gideon had just broken her heart and I figured she would curl up into a ball and have a weeklong pity party. I was wrong. The pity party lasted a few hours while she cried on the phone to her best friend before she got to work trying to find the message her grandfather left before he died. Being in love with Gideon didn’t make her weak like the Count expected. It made her strong. Yeah, her heart’s broken and she still has to look Gideon in the face everyday but instead of being pathetic about it, she’s mad. It reminds me of the quote “hell hath no fury like a woman scorned”. I loved the fact that everyone kept underestimating Gwen because it just gave her chances to prove them wrong.
Gideon. Irritated. Me. I loved him for the second half of the book once he finally decided to stop being an idiot. However, the majority of the time before that point he was just being a stubborn asshole. If he’d just talked to Gwen everything would have been fine. Maybe something like, “Hey, Gwen, I’m only pretending to hate you because the Count thinks he can use our relationship as leverage against us.” She probably wouldn’t have been particularly happy about it but she would have understood. Half the events of the first two books probably wouldn’t have happened if Gideon had just tried working with Gwen.
Lesley is Gwen’s best friend. I’ve loved her since the beginning. She’s really outgoing and funny and always throws herself into situations in order to help Gwen. She’s really smart and comes in handy decoding the many cryptic codes and prophecies that Gwen comes across. She was also Gwen’s rock throughout the entire series. Whenever Gwen had any kind of problem Lesley was there to help her through it.
Raphael is Gideon’s brother. He came in during the second book and played a small part. He was more important in the third book and although he’s funny, I’d mostly ignored him until he became a love interest for Lesley.
Xemerius is the ghost of a demon in gargoyle form. (Gwen can see ghosts.) I adored him. He was hilarious, sarcastic, and very overdramatic. He wasn’t particularly helpful most of the time. He would occasionally find something that was hidden or keep lookout for Gwen but for the most part he only added comedic relief.
Lastly, there are the Guardians and the people at the Temple. I hated all of them. They were ridiculous. They hated Gwen just because they’d always thought her cousin would be the Ruby and were pissed they were wrong. They don’t trust her, they ignore her and they underestimate her. If those assholes just got over themselves and decided to work with Gwen instead of against her everything would have been much easier. The fact they refused to listen to her over and over again only allowed the Count to continue his evil plans.
Overall, I loved these books. I would recommend them to anyone who likes romance, scifi/fantasy, and young adult. They are directed slightly more toward the younger side of YA but not so much to be childish. Please tell me what your own thoughts are.
-Antonia

Have any thoughts?

