Silver is for Secrets – Laurie Faira Stolarz

Summary:
After two years of having nightmares, outwitting stalkers, and saving lives (including her own), Stacey’s memories of boarding school aren’t all rosy. This summer, Stacey, her boyfriend Jacob, and their circle of friends are looking forward to one last vacation before they start college: six good friends, a cottage on the beach, and no parents.
Just sun, surf, and sand. It’s perfect-until the nightmares return. But this time they’re not about one of her friends. They’re about Clara, the girl staying in another beach cottage. The dreams predict Clara’s death, but Stacey’s having a hard time getting Clara to stop chasing guys-including those who already have girlfriends-long enough to find out who’s stalking her.
Stacey can’t just stand by and watch Clara die, but the meaning of her dreams isn’t always clear. This time, they don’t warn her about the horrific consequences-a tragedy far beyond her worst nightmares that will haunt her for the rest of her life.

Review:
I’m still a little in shock at the events in this book. It just all happened so fast. Okay, so Silver is for Secrets is the third book in this series. Stacey and friends have just graduated high school and they visit Cape Cod for a summer vacation. I’m actually originally from the Cape, so I feel that I judged the setting of this book more harshly than I would usually. So first off, there are no cruise ships here. The trip they do at the end of this book is not something you can do on Cape. Second, everything else was pretty much accurate. Cape Cod is a very good beachy vacation spot and I was a little excited when I realized this book takes place in my hometown.
Silver is for Secrets starts off as soon as the group gets to their destination. Within the first couple of pages Stacey is already having nightmares. I didn’t really like this. I mean sure, I like books with lots of action, but this is over doing it a bit. I would enjoy being able to see the characters happy with their lives for a few pages before all hell breaks loose. I think Stacey’s still my favorite character in this book. She’s strong and sincere and responsible. One of the things I loved most about Stacey was how genuine she is. She shows how much she fully believes in her magic, and how she’s going to help to make a difference. She’s always doing the right thing, even if her friends aren’t happy with who that has to do with.
And that brings me to Clara. I fucking hate Clara. She’s a stupid, bratty, attention seeking, little girl. Stacey spends this entire book trying to help Clara survive what she’s seeing in her nightmares and Clara spends her time screwing off. She’s fake and awful. There’s absolutely some mental issues that need to be addressed with Clara. I really don’t even have much to say about her, just that she sucks and spent her entire summer trying to ruin Stacey’s life. Oh, and I hate her.
Amber and Drea were much better at playing the supportive best friends in this book. Drea still had quite a bit of Chad problems going on. Despite her personal problems Drea was really supportive of Stacey and tried her best to help in whatever way she could. Even if that meant hanging out with Clara, after she saw Chad and Clara kissing. I give the girl some credit. The only thing I really have to complain about when it comes to Amber is that the girl is seriously immature. Other than this one detail, Amber’s a great friend to Stacey. She’s a little flighty, but completely supportive in anyway that she can be.
I’ve been thinking about what to say regarding Jacob since I reached the halfway point of this book. I absolutely loved Jacob as a character, but I didn’t care so much for his actions through most of this book. He was secretive and closed off. Stacey knows something is going on and he just won’t let her help. I think that’s what upsets me most, things could have ended so differently is Jacob had just let Stacey try to help. Ugh. I loved him and I know he was just doing what he thought was best, even if he was wrong.
So, this book was better than the two previous. If you read either of those reviews you already know what kind of readers I’d suggest this to. Anyone that likes action, mystery, suspense, with a little bit of drama and romance.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

