White is for Magic – Laurie Faria Stolarz

Summary:
One year later. It’s happening again. Seventeen year old Stacey Brown is having nightmares-creepy dreams haunted by the ghosts of people who have been brutally murdered.
It’s her senior year at boarding school, and what Stacey really should be focusing on are her classes and getting into college-not to mention the rocky path her love life has been taking lately.
But even if she could ignore the dreams, Stacey can’t ignore the strange letters that she’s been receiving. No return address, no signature-and the same cryptic messages she’s been hearing in her nightmares.
What’s worse is that she’s not the only one having weird dreams. Jacob, a transfer student, claims that he’s been having nightly premonitions of Stacey’s death for months, dreams so realistic that he transferred schools to find her and stop the killer. It doesn’t help that she’s starting to have feeling for him even though she already has a boyfriend. But can she trust Jacob? Or will both their darkest dreams come true?

Review:
Okay, so I absolutely liked White is for Magic better than the first in the series. There was a bit I didn’t like about this book, but I enjoyed it more than the previous. It starts off at the beginning of the next school year, which worked well for how this story line goes. The book was descriptive and written well enough. But this series is still totally directed to younger young adult readers.
So basically, Stacey’s life is repeating itself. She’s having nightmares again, except this time she’s dreaming of her own death. Can we just take a minute to talk about this? Imagine waking up in the middle of the night, every night, after dreaming all about your own death. That would be something very difficult for me to handle. When I first started reading this book I thought to myself, Stacey really should trust her friends more. She should try to let them help and support her. After I finished, I no longer stand by that statement. Stacey tries to put more trust in her friends and doesn’t get the support she deserves. Regardless of what she’s lacking, Stacey handles herself and everything she’s dealing with surprisingly well throughout White is for Magic. She figures out, with minimal help from around her, exactly what is about to happen to her. She even puts herself exactly where she knows she shouldn’t be to help Drea. One of the biggest supports Stacey had was her mother, but not until later in the book. Stacey and her mother have never really had a close relationship because her mom wouldn’t acknowledge her nightmares. Stacey kind of resented her mom for not supporting her in this aspect of her life. The pair really bond and reconnect in this book when her mom steps up to the plate and tries to do everything she can for Stacey. I kind of adored her mom after they reconnected. There’s one thing i would like to mention about Stacey. No matter what she’s dealing with at the time, she does still try really hard to give her school work the attention it needs. The second book in this series definitely made me like Stacey a bit more.
Her friends, however, I think I like them less in this story. Amber isn’t that bad in White is for Magic. My feelings are almost the same. She’s a ditzy, unfocused, high school girl who doesn’t know what she wants. She gives Stacey the most support out of all of the others, so I do give her credit for this. Then there’s Drea, who I think has become my least favorite character. Through the entire book it’s obvious that she’s being shady about something. And shady pisses me off. I still think she’s a spoiled brat. She only thinks of herself. In the first book Drea is put in danger, and Stacey is the one to figure everything out and save her. Too many times for me to be able to overlook it, Drea uses what she went through last year to avoid helping her very afraid best friend. I would have understood it at first, and Drea does help more toward the end of the book. I just wasn’t a huge fan of Drea. The last friend is Chad, who in this book is Stacey’s boyfriend. He’s not a very good one if you ask me and since this is my review, you are asking me. Chad never took anything that had to with Stacey’s nightmares seriously. He always tried to explain them away with some other excuse. Honestly, I think he just didn’t want to deal with them. Chad and Stacey fought through pretty much the entire book. It was very obvious they weren’t meant to be together.
Which brings me to my favorite character in this book, Jacob. He wasn’t introduced until about half way through the book, which is when I really got sucked in. My first impression of Jacob was a few different things. Stacey finds him in the woods doing a spell. My immediate thought was that Jacob and Stacey have to love each other forever. My second thought was, but what if he’s the bad guy? I was very torn about my feelings toward Jacob for most of the book. I always WANTED to like him, but I was still suspicious, mirroring Stacey’s feelings. I’m very excited to read more about Jacob in the next book of this series.
So I guess it was really just some of the characters I didn’t like about this book. I mean, the story line was written well enough, but I didn’t freak out as much as I usually do. White is for Magic kept me interested, constantly wondering what was going on or going to happen next. I honestly think Stolarz could have kept this a two book series, and am actually very glad she didn’t because I can’t wait to start the next book as soon as I’m done with this review. Which I guess is now. So, young adult book lovers, paranormal, action, mystery readers would all totally love this series so far.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

