Blue is for Nightmares – Laurie Faria Stolarz

Summary:
Stacey Brown has lots of secrets-her crush on her best friend Drea’s boyfriend, the spells she casts, and the nightmares that come true. Now she’s dreaming about Drea and a psycho stalker. Saving Drea will take all the magic and courage Stacey’s got. And everyone’s secret will have to come out.

Review:
I first read this series when I was a freshman in high school. I spent a lot of time in the school library. I later on got them at a book sale and have been meaning to read them again. I finally started to last night. I finished this book about a half hour ago and I’m still trying to contemplate what I just read. Blue is for Nightmares was a very interesting start to this series. The story follows a group of high school girls that go to boarding school. Stacey is the main character. It really took me a while to like Stacey. She had quite a few qualities I wasn’t fond of. She’s a terrible decision maker, but I can admire how hard she worked with every task she handled. Stacey also has this fierce protective feeling towards her friends and does everything she can to help them, even though she doesn’t always help. As it goes for main characters, I wasn’t in love with Stacey.
Next I’ll mention Drea, Stacey’s roommate and best friend. I honestly think Drea is a spoiled brat. She always gets what she wants and doesn’t always think about how it affects the people around her. The more I read of Drea, the more I didn’t like her. Then I got closer to the end and I learned to like her a little. Overall, she was an alright character.
Last there’s Amber, the last member of the group. This girl seemed almost like an unnecessary character. She’s air headed and immature. There were too many times that I wanted to shake some sense into her. A redeeming quality was her love for her friends. Even when she did something stupid, the three always stuck together.
So, I wasn’t a huge fan of the characters. I liked this book mainly for the story line I guess. Stacey has nightmares of the future, so the whole book is a huge mystery. How can they prevent her nightmare from happening? How can they save Drea? Who is this mystery person? I had so many questions through most of the story.
I definitely think this book is aimed for the younger young adult readers. I can understand why I liked it in high school.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

