Antonia’s Top Ten Tuesday- Books That Made Me Cry

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s prompt is books that will make you cry. Since in the past I’ve done Books that Broke My Heart a Little, which for me is pretty much the same as this one, I’m going to try not to repeat any from that list. Here are my choices (in no particular order):
4b6b0-toptentuesday
1. The Shack by William Paul Young- I cried for almost every single page of this book. It’s about a man who’s very young daughter was kidnapped and murdered. It’s absolutely heartbreaking.
2. Looking for Alaska by John Green- The only reason I refused to read this book for years even though Amanda continuously badgered me about it, was the fact I knew it would make me cry. Even though I was right, I’m so glad I finally read it.
3. The Fiery Heart by Richelle Mead- I can’t get over this book. The ending killed me. I just lost it from having to read it through both Sydney and Adrians POV’s.
4. 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher- This book was sad for so many different reasons. You’re sad for Clay and you’re sad for Hannah and I just couldn’t help but cry a little for them.
5. Burned by Ellen Hopkins- Her books never end particularly happy. For some reason while reading this one I was convinced it would… and then it didn’t.
6. The Host by Stephanie Meyer- Toward the end of this book I didn’t have any hope that things could get better. I was actually a little pathetic about it.
7. Nights in Rodanthe by Nicholas Sparks- I never know what I’m going to get with his books. Some end happy and some are just heartbreaking. This was the first heartbreaking book of his that I read and up until that point I hadn’t had much experience with them. I remember sitting in my room in the middle of the night crying over it.
8. Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout- I know I put Opal on my heartbroken list but this one might have been worse. I don’t know how I’ll wait until July for the last one.
9. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green- This book is one of the reasons I’m so glad I finally read Looking for Alaska because it convinced me I needed to read this one too. It’s a beautiful story and I would recommend it to anyone.
10. The Phoenix Endangered by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory- One of my favorite characters who was also in a previous series disappears at the end of this book in a way that makes you assume he’s dead. I couldn’t get over it for a significant amount of time.

What books have made you cry? I’d love to hear which ones are the same or different than my list.
-Antonia

3 responses to “Antonia’s Top Ten Tuesday- Books That Made Me Cry

Have any thoughts?

