Lovely, Dark and Deep – Amy McNamara

Summary:
Wren Wells is trying to outrun the accident that killed her boyfriend and wrecked her plans to live a normal life. Instead of going to college, she retreats to her father’s isolated art studio. There, in the remote northern woods of Maine, she meets Cal Owen, a boy who wears his own hurt like a badge. But when their connection threatens Wren’s hard-won isolation, she has to choose: open up her broken heart or join the ghosts who haunt her.

Review:
I bought this book with some christmas gift cards that I have. Lovely, Dark and Deep was a book bought purely because I liked the look of the cover. I read the description, and it said there was an accident and had a mysterious guy so I had to read it. This book was exactly as it’s title describes. These characters I fell in love with are lovely and their stories are dark and deep.
Wren’s story was so sad and the more I found out about her the darker and deeper things got. Poor Wren goes through so much before he goes to live with her father in the quiet isolation. We only get to find out bits and pieces at a time, which definitely added suspense. I really liked Wren. There were some times where I just wanted to smack her and ask her what the hell she was thinking. But there were other times where I just wanted to wrap her up in my arms and tell her that she wasn’t alone, that I knew how she felt. She was really such a sweet girl that had been through more than she should’ve had to.
There were quite a few ups and downs in Lovely, Dark and Deep. Most of them seemed to involve the mysterious Cal Owen. I wasn’t sure how I felt about him at first. Like Wren, I thought he was nice, but I kind of just wanted him to go away. Then I got to know him, and some of what he’d been through and I wanted to hug him and tell him everything would be okay. Cal was really just a genuinely nice guy who’d been through a lot. When the two came together, I personally thought they were perfect. But if you read the book you know they both still have shit they need to sort out with themselves. Wren and Cal are the cutest couple. I think they’re really good for each other. They care so much for one another and want what’s best for the other, but they’re still young and absolutely need to work out some of the kinks.
So, the location of where all this takes place is somewhere I’d LOVE to live, but only for part of the year because I like the warm weather. But the description of where Wren lives just sounds so beautiful. She lives with her dad, which is in northern Maine, and the way that I’ve pictured the snowy woods, the breathetaking cliffs around her house, I would love to be surrounded by that beauty. The description the author gives throughout the book is perfect. I can see everything she’s trying to portray perfectly. The way that McNamara writes when it comes to Wren and her thoughts was just so accurate with some of my own thoughts and feelings. I felt like I could really relate to Wren for the most part. This is something big for me, I need to be able to relate to the main character.
Overall, Lovely, Dark and Deep was a great book. I think any reader that likes young adult romance would love this book. There’s so much more to the story than you’d think when you start. There were several points where I had to put the book down and just say what the fuck just happened. It was suspenseful, intriguing, and entertaining. Everything a girl wants when picking up a book and everyone should read it.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

3 responses to “Lovely, Dark and Deep – Amy McNamara

Have any thoughts?

