Whiskey Beach by Nora Roberts

Goodreads Summary: For more than three hundred years, Bluff House has sat above Whiskey Beach, guarding its shore – and its secrets.

To summer tourists, it’s the crown jewel of the town’s stunning scenery. To the residents of Whiskey Beach, it’s landmark and legend. To Eli Landon, it’s home…

A Boston lawyer, Eli has weathered an intense year of public scrutiny and police investigation after being accused of murdering his soon-to-be ex-wife. And though there was never enough evidence to have him arrested, his reputation is in tatters as well as his soul. He need sanctuary. He needs Bluff House.

While Eli’s beloved grandmother is in Boston, recuperating from a nasty fall, Abra Walsh has card for Bluff House, among her other jobs as yoga instructor, jewelry maker, and massage therapist. She is a woman with an open heart and a wide embrace, and no one is safe from her special, some would say over-bearing, brand of nurturing – including Eli.

He begins to count on Abra for far more than her cooking, cleaning, and massage skills, and starts to feel less like a victim – and more like the kind of man who can finally solve the murder of his wife and clear his name. But Bluff House’s many mysteries are a siren song to someone intent on destroying Eli and reaping the rewards. He and Abra will become entangled in a centuries-old net of rumors and half-truths that could pull them under the thunderous waters of Whiskey Beach…

Passion and obsession, humor and heart flow together in a novel about two people opening themselves up to the truth – and to each other.

What I love most about Nora Roberts is that even though a lot of her books follow the same basic storylines, I always feel like I’m reading something new. I fall in love with her characters and settings. How her books always seem so bright and bubbly by the end. Whenever I’m looking for a book to put me in a good mood, I usually pick one of hers.
Whiskey Beach didn’t disappoint me. There were murders, an abusive boyfriend, a psychopath, etc. But Abra was literally so full of energy that her attitude just took over the book. Not in a bad way.
I’m not a huge fan of mysteries but I really enjoy the way Roberts writes them. She doesn’t focus solely on the murder or whatever else the source of danger might be. She focuses first on the characters and adds the mystery as something that happens to them. This is what I believe I tend to not like about mysteries. I always end up feeling like I don’t know the characters well enough and that’s my favorite part about reading books. If I can fall in love with the characters or want to be best friends with them then I couldn’t care less about the storyline.
So I want to start with Eli. I didn’t think I was going to love him at first. I figured I would like him well enough but he didn’t seem like the kind of guy I would love. He was a little too nerdy, a little too weak. But then he started getting back to himself after everything that happened to him and I realized how wrong I was. He was just the right amount of nerdy to make him endearing and right in the middle of weak and strong so he wasn’t pathetic nor was he overbearing. I ended up really loving Eli. He was smart, caring and funny. He was the perfect male character to go with Abra. He was reserved enough to balance her craziness but never tried to change her.
Which brings me to Abra Walsh. Energetic is really the best word I have to describe her. She does so many different things; yoga, masseuse, housekeeper, jewelry, etc. But she doesn’t work so many jobs because she has to. She does it because she enjoys doing so many things. I’m still not sure if Abra’s someone I’d want to be friends with in real life because I think she would be a little exhausting to be around. But Abra has such a strong presence that I wouldn’t be able to dislike her and I would have to respect her. However, I loved her in the story. She’s so perfect for it that there’s no way I couldn’t.
Overall, I loved this book. I would recommend this to anyone who likes mysteries, romances and especially if you like both.
Thanks so much for checking out our blog. As always, let me know your own opinions. And I hope everyone had a happy Halloween.
-Antonia

Have any thoughts?

