Insurgent – Veronica Roth

Summary:
One choice can transform you-or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves-and herself-while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.
Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable-and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.
New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth’s much-anticipated second book of the dystopian Divergent series is another intoxicating thrill ride of a story, rich with hallmark twists, heartbreaks, romance, and powerful insights about human nature.

Review:
I love Veronica Roth so much for writing these books and giving me the opportunity to read them. So far I haven’t been even a little disappointed with what I’ve read. Insurgent, the second book in the trilogy, was a fast paced read filled with excitement and I loved every page. It started pretty much right where Divergent left off, which I loved. Series that skip months at a time between books kind of get on my nerves. I like knowing everything, so don’t skip anything! I explained all about how the government works in my review of the first book, so if you don’t understand, read that review first. I’m really glad these are longer books because I just can’t get enough. Every page has something exciting or important to the story which helped keep me interested throughout the whole book. One thing I really liked about Insurgent was the descriptions Roth gave us. You can picture everything perfectly. It was just worded really well, there wasn’t an overwhelming amount of detail or too little amount. This book has a sense of urgency to it. Which made me want to read it faster and just figure out what happens! I’m usually not terribly good at guessing what’s going to happen next, but with Insurgent I figured out what the big secret was about halfway through the book. There were a few other things that I guessed right, which made me feel clever. If you read my review of Divergent, you’ll know about my unhealthy love for this set of fictional characters. That didn’t change with the second book, I actually think I love them more, so lets talk about them!
Again, I’m going to save the best for last, so I’ll start with Tris’s fellow initiates. Christina and Tris have issues for most of the book, but Christina comes around eventually and becomes Tris’s partner in crime. Uriah and Marlene become closer and spend more time with Tris in the second book. They help her and become one of her supports. I love them both. Last is Peter and Drew (Molly isn’t around). Drew’s part isn’t huge. He mostly has funny eye patches and is a bad guy that does normal bad guy things. Peter, however, is someone I still haven’t quite figured out. He ends up helping quite a bit in a few different situations. But in others he’s the bad guy again and hurts Tris and her friends. I’m curious to see where his character will go in the next book.
I mentioned Caleb, Beatrice’s brother, in my review of the first book. But I don’t have anything to say about him that wouldn’t be a huge spoiler. I just can’t even with him right now.
Next comes Four. He’s definitely grown a lot in the second book. He also definitely still has issues. But he’s not the moody mysterious hot guy anymore. All the chaos has done him well. He’s grown up that bit more that he needed. Four and Tris fight a fair bit during Insurgent. Four usually picks fights with her. Sometimes with very damn good reason, and sometimes with misguided ideas, but never to hurt her. He’s always looking out for her with everything he does. She is his main concern at all times. Although, he lets some of his trust issues come between them and things are rocky for a bit. They make it through when he comes to his senses. When they’re not fighting Four just has so much faith in Tris, he supports her completely and totally, when she’s not endangering herself. I want a love like theirs. At one point Tris thinks, “I am his, and he is mine, and it has been that way all along.” I want someone to feel like this about me.
Now, the best for last, Tris. She has grown up so much in this book. At the beginning she was getting herself into situations she couldn’t handle sometimes just for the hell of it, but mostly because she feels responsible. Tris feels that she’s very important, which she is to an extent. But some of the things she does are super unnecessary. She is determined and persistent, sometimes selfless, and always brave. Tris is an awesome main character and I can’t wait to see where she goes next.
Overall, I loved this book. In case you didn’t catch that already. I definitely liked Divergent better, although I’m hoping Allegiant is my favorite. Insurgent was filled with action and suspense, romance and friendship, and just all around craziness. I loved every page. I hope you will too.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

3 responses to “Insurgent – Veronica Roth

Have any thoughts?

