One for the Money by Janet Evanovich

Goodreads Summary:One Fine Mess
Welcome to Trenton, New Jersey, home to wiseguys, average Joes, and Stephanie Plum, who sports a big attitude and even bigger money problems (since losing her job as a lingerie buyer for a department store). Stephanie needs cash – fast – but times are tough, and soon she’s forced to turn to the last resort of the truly desperate: family…
One False Move
Stephanie lands a gig at her sleazy cousin Vinnie’s bail bonding company. She’s got no experience. But that doesn’t matter. As does the fact that the bail jumper in question is local vice cop Joe Morelli. From the time he first looked up her dress to the time he first got into her pants, to the time Steph hit him with her father’s Buick, M-o-r-e-l-l-i has spelled t-r-o-u-b-l-e. And now the hot guy is in hot water-wanted for murder…
One for the Money
Abject poverty is a great motivator for learning new skills, but being trained in the school of hard knocks by people like psycho prizefighter Benito Ramirez isn’t. Still, if Stephanie can nab Morelli in a week, she’ll make a cool ten grand. All she has to do is become an expert bounty hunter overnight – and keep herself from getting killed before she gets her man…

Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series is one of Amanda’s favorites. She’s been trying to get me to read them for years (I did read number eight a few years ago) but I never really got into them. Finally, about a month ago we watched the One for the Money. I’d really liked the movie and decided I’d give the books a try.
I really liked the first book. It was quite a bit different from the movie and there were parts I liked more and parts I liked less. Overall though, I liked the book better because, well, it’s a book.
I loved the characters. They’re all hilarious. Stephanie is an interesting heroine purely because she’s nothing like a normal heroine. She’s an awkward, kind of girly-kind of tomboy, completely out of her league bounty hunter who’s afraid of guns. She tends to say or do the wrong thing more often than not and is always biting off more than she can chew.
Then there’s Morelli and Ranger. I love them. Half of that is probably just because I’ve read the eighth book and I already know so much that happens between all of them. But even without that, they’re fantastic. And attractive.
What I didn’t like about this book is that Evanovich seemed to place a negative connotation on almost every place or person. I’m not saying everything needs to be cheerful and optimistic, but it made me feel as though I shouldn’t like a lot of the characters that I knew I was supposed to like.
Overall, I enjoyed this book quite a bit. I believe the nineteenth book in the series just came out, so I don’t plan to read them all in one sitting. I’ve got a bunch of books that have been on my TBR list for awhile so I’m going to finish those before reading the second.
I’d recommend these books to anyone who likes a good laugh with a little mystery thrown in.
-Antonia

Have any thoughts?

