Antonia’s Top Ten Tuesday- Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I would

I seriously love all these Top Ten Tuesday Topics. TTT is a weekly prompt hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is books you liked more or less than you thought you would. Here are mine (in no particular order):

1. Cloaked by Alex Flinn- Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love Flinn’s fairy tales. But Cloaked is the only one of them that I don’t REALLY want to read again. I’m sure I eventually will anyways, but it wasn’t my favorite. I’d been expecting it to be a new favorite (her books usually are) but it wasn’t.
2. When Darkness Falls by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory- This is hands-down my favorite series ever. I read it once or twice a year, I’m that obsessed. The funny part? The first time I tried reading this book: I. Put. It. Down. I got about fifty pages in and stopped reading it for several months. The beginning is kind of slow while they’re giving background information, but once you get past that it picks up and you can’t put them down until the series is over. The only reason I tried reading this book again was because I was bored, not because I thought I’d really like it. Once I got past that initial slow section, I was instantly infatuated.
3. Fallen by Lauren Kate- I hadn’t expected to love this book, but I usually enjoy other books of the same style so I figured I’d at least like it even if it didn’t become a new favorite. I absolutely did not expect to dislike it so much that I wouldn’t try to finish the series. Which is what happened.
4. Dream Hunter by Sherrilyn Kenyon- This is actually like the eighth book in the Dark-Hunters series. (It’s technically part of the Dream-Hunters series which I think is a sub-series of the Dark-Hunters but they all connect so I just consider them part of the larger series.) This was the first book I read by Kenyon and I hadn’t really been looking to read the series. I was staying at my sister’s house and didn’t have anything to read. I found this book and figured, “Whatever, I’m bored.” This series is now one of my favorites. I absolutely love her books.
5. Halo by Alexandra Adornetto- I didn’t hate this book. I just wasn’t as impressed by the book as I’d been by the description.
6. The Source of Magic by Piers Anthony- I liked this book but I didn’t love it. The book before it, A Spell for Chameleon, was fantastic. I think I had so many expectations from the first book that I ended up being disappointed with the second. It was a good story, but didn’t leave the characters where I wanted or expected them to be at the end.
7. On the Way to the Wedding by Julia Quinn- This was the last book in the series about the eight Bridgerton siblings. I loved every single one of these books. Except this one. It wasn’t terrible because I adore Julia Quinn but Gregory’s story just didn’t entertain me as much as the other seven books did.
8. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare- I wasn’t terribly enthusiastic about reading this. My sister and Amanda kept telling me I should and I kept refusing. I finally didn’t have anything else to read and grudgingly started it… and immediately became so engrossed that I read the first three books in two days.
9. Impulse by Ellen Hopkins- These books are intense and overwhelming and drive me a little bit crazy, but they’re written in such a creative way that I can’t help but like them. Unfortunately, I wasn’t a big fan of Impulse.
10. The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima- I was absolutely blown away by this book. This series is a new favorite of mine. Usually my favorites are books that I’m really excited to read, whether because I know the author or I really liked the cover or the description. I read this book because I needed something to read and I figured it wouldn’t be terrible. Instead, I literally inhaled all four books and love them all.

I really enjoyed this topic. Let me know if you had the similar reactions to these books or others you’ve read.
-Antonia

5 responses to “Antonia’s Top Ten Tuesday- Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I would

  • rgdole

    I would still check out Castle Roogna by Peirs Anthony… it stars Blinks , Dor, and it’s pretty good… I still haven’t read the next book after that but I just like the kind of quirkiness to it… it’s not like a lot of books that deal with magic you know…

    • rgdole

      that was supposed to say… Blinks son, Dor

      • classybooksxo

        Thanks for the recommendation. I keep meaning to read more of them but I think I was worried I’d be disappointed by the others too. Now I’m going to try them. Thanks. 🙂
        -Antonia

      • rgdole

        well hopefully you’ll enjoy it… i always feel weird recommending books… but i figured if you liked the first one you should at least see how their son turns out… 😀

      • classybooksxo

        I know how you feel, when I recommend books I like to make sure they’ve at least read something similar. Now I’m really excited to read it. I love when stories continue on to the next generation.

Have any thoughts?

