Antonia’s Top Ten Tuesday- Rewind

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is a rewind. You get to choose any past topic they’ve done. Which ended up being terribly difficult for both me and Amanda. We ended up wanting to do pretty much all of them. I finally decided on Top Ten Books That Broke My Heart a Little and I was very happy with my choice. Until Amanda started talking about hers (Top Ten Favorite Quotes) and she really liked mine also. So we’re going to cheat a little bit and include our opinions in each others posts. So, in no particular order, here are mine:

Antonia’s Top Ten:

1. Inheritance by Christopher Paolini– I loved this entire series but also spent the entire time hoping Arya and Eragon would end up together. They don’t. Even worse, they will never see each other again… I definitely died a little at the end.

2. The Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling– I shouldn’t need to explain this whatsoever.

3. Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon– I cried and cried and cried and cried. It ends happy. But the first half of the book just broke my heart a little bit for each page.

4. When Darkness Falls by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory– I. Can’t. Believe. She. Died. The world dropped out from under me. I didn’t think anything could make it better. Fortunately, I adore these authors for a reason and they DID make it okay. But for those few moments, I was inconsolable.

5. Shadowkiss by Richelle Mead– Dimitri… Most books, when something bad happens, you retain that little bit of hope that the author will fix it and make it better. This was not one of those books for me. I absolutely lost all hope for a happy ending for this series.

6. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins– If you need an explanation as to why this broke my heart then I have nothing to say to you except GO READ THESE BOOKS.

7. Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout– The end. I honestly don’t know how I’m functioning normally right now. I feel like everything in the world should stop until the next book comes out. Armentrout HAS to make it alright. She just has to.

8. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks– Both the book and the movie, though the book was worse. The movie was a lot different than the book but the ending of both made me bawl my eyes out.

9. Brightly Burning by Mercedes Lackey– This was such an amazing book. I haven’t read it in years and I kind of want to read it again. But the ending devastated me. I absolutely did not see it coming.

10. The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis– The heartbreak from this book wasn’t completely from the events of the book. Most of it was just because the series had ended. And it kind of seemed like it was the end of something for me. Like my childhood. I’m pretty sure I walked around in a daze for the week after I finished it.

These are mine. I hope everyone has read a book that was heartbreaking at least once in their life. What are yours?
-Antonia

Amanda’s Top Ten:

Writing this short list of ten books that make me feel way too much ended up being much more difficult than I thought it would be. Here is the list I came up with in no special order.

1 – Looking for Alaska – John Green, I put this book on almost every single one of my Top Ten Tuesday posts. This book shattered my heart into a thousand little pieces. When we find out what happened I was crushed, I mourned this character as if they were a real person I’d known my whole life.

2 – Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – J.K. Rowling, Uh, duh. If you don’t know why this book would be heartbreaking then you either haven’t read it, or you’re an idiot.

3 – Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins, This is another one that if you don’t understand why I’m heartbroken then you need to go read the book, or stop being an idiot.

4 – New Moon – Stephenie Meyer, I know, I know. “Ew, Twilight,” but fifteen year old me that read these books can’t be argued with. My heart broke, and I’ll willingly admit to this fact.

5 – Beautiful Darkness – Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, This book made me cry because of an awful plot twist that came out of no where. It took me a while to recover from this one.

6 – Burned – Ellen Hopkins, How could you do this to me Ellen? Make me fall in love with these fictional characters just to take them away from me?

7 – Shadow Kiss – Richelle Mead, This book left me with no hope left in anything. I knew there were more books being written, but I couldn’t think about that when everything was left so hopeless.

8 – Fire Study – Maria V. Snyder, Fire Study is the third in the Study Trilogy. I absolutely adored this series, but the third definitely pulled at my heart. After going through so much with Yelena, the events in Fire Study had my emotions all over the place.

9 – Opal – Jennifer L. Armentrout, Literally everything about this book left me heartbroken. Everything.

10 – The Fault in our Stars – John Green, I was trying to stay away from doing more than one of the same author, but I just can’t not have this book on my list. I just, Augustus…I love you. Come back.

Let me know what you think, if you agree or disagree. What’s your top ten?
Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

One response to “Antonia’s Top Ten Tuesday- Rewind

Have any thoughts?

