Eona by Alison Goodman

Goodreads Summary: Eon has been revealed as Eona, the first female Dragoneye in hundreds of years. Along with fellow rebels Ryko and Lady Dela, she is on the run from High Lord Sethon’s army. The renegades are on a quest for the black folio, stolen by the drug-riddled Dillon; they must also find Kygo, the young Pearl Emperor, who needs Eona’s power and the black folio if he is to wrest back his throne from the selfstyled “Emperor” Sethon. Through it all, Eona must come to terms with her new Dragoneye identity and power – and learn to bear the anguish of the ten dragons whose Dragoneyes were murdered. As they focus their power through her, she becomes a dangerous conduit for their plans. . . .
Eona, with its pulse-pounding drama and romance, its unforgettable fight scenes, and its surprises, is the conclusion to an epic only Alison Goodman could create.

I just finished reading Eona by Alison Goodman and, just like Eon, I couldn’t put it down. Eona continuously surprised me. I honestly couldn’t guess what would happen next and every time I thought the characters were safe, the next page I was scared for their lives again.
I really liked these books. I thought the characters were built up well. Eona pissed me off a lot in the first book. She was trying so hard to do what was expected of her but she was constantly doing the wrong thing. It was wicked aggravating. During the second book, she FINALLY steps up and doesn’t mess up every five seconds. She starts listening to her instincts more instead of always doing what everyone tells her to do. She’s also finally learning how to be a girl and I loved seeing her grow into herself.
I adore Kygo. Mostly. He can be irritating at times but usually just when he’s doing something he HAS to do as emperor. Eona might not like it, but he is the emperor. He doesn’t always have a choice. As (understandably) annoying as he can be, I still love him. He genuinely wants what’s best for his people and he makes the right choice in the end.
I still love Dela and Ryko. Dela is just fantastic no matter what she’s doing. Ryko drove me a little nuts every time he and Eona were around each other. He was so mean to her, but, like with Kygo, I understood why so I can’t really be mad at him.
What I couldn’t stand about this book was Eona and Ido’s relationship. I hate him. He’s an asshole. He will never stop being an asshole. I understand he was necessary for teaching Eona how to use her dragon, but he made me so angry, especially at the end. Every time he opened his mouth I just wanted to punch him.
The end of the book was crazy. So much was happening all at one time and I really just wanted to cry. In a mostly good way.
I really like these books. They’re fast-paced and suspenseful. They have action, betrayal and love. I would recommend them to anyone who liked fantasy books and maybe even if you don’t. Amanda’s not usually a big fan of fantasy but she really liked them so, in this case, don’t judge a book by its genre.
-Antonia

Have any thoughts?

