Eon by Alison Goodman

Summary: She has a powerful secret… with deadly consequences.
For years, Eon’s life has been focused on magical study and sword-work, with one goal: that he be chosen as a Dragoneye, and apprentice to one of the twelve dragonsof good fortune.
But Eon has a dangerous secret. He is actually Eona, a sixteen-year-old girl who has been masquerading as a twelve-year-old boy. Females are forbidden to use Dragon Magic; the penalty is death.
When Eona’s secret threatens to come to light, she and her allies are plunged into grave danger and a struggle for the Imperial throne. Eona must find the strength and the inner power to battle those who want to take her magic… and her life.
eon

So I literally just finished Eon a couple minutes ago. I couldn’t put it down. I started it at around three this morning. Don’t ask why I decided to start a book that late. I figured I’d read a few pages then go to bed. It didn’t work out that way. It starts out suspenseful and continues that way throughout the entire book. There isn’t really a point anywhere in the book where Eon is safe and you never really get a second to stop and breathe. The fast pace was a little overwhelming at times but I think it worked for the storyline.
I really like Eon. She’s spent so long pretending to be a boy that she’s more comfortable with it than with being a girl. She’s awkward between them and I enjoyed seeing that. She did irritate me at times. When I could understand why her dragon wouldn’t come to her and Eon had no idea. I knew what the dragon wanted her to do. The Mirror dragon is the dragon of truth. I mean, really? How could she not see that the dragon just needed her to be honest? Instead, she kept lying and it pushed the dragon away more and more. Despite that, I still liked her. She was strong and kind. She didn’t let her new wealth and power go to her head.
I loved Lady Dela, Ryko, Rilla and Kygo. They were all interesting secondary characters. Lady Dela and Ryko were completely different from how I expected them to be. They were always surprising me. I loved Kygo. His character seemed to realistically portray a prince whose father is dying and his uncle is planning to takeover and destroy the empire. It was a little heartbreaking that we don’t know what happens to him at the end of the book. I can’t wait to see more of him.
I really liked the setting and plot. It was complicated and something new was always popping up but I felt like it tied together well.
Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It’s fast paced, suspenseful, and has vivid descriptions. I’d recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy style writing.
-Antonia

One response to “Eon by Alison Goodman

Have any thoughts?

