Bloodlines – Richelle Mead

Summary:
Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic an serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. Alchemists protect vampire secrets-and human lives.
When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she’s still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse. Jill Dragomir-the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir-is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill’s gaurdian and protector, posing as her roommate in the unlikeliest of places: a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. The last thing Sydney wants is to be accused of sympathizing with vampires. And now she has to live with one.
The Moroi court believe Jill and Sydney will be safe at Amberwood Prep, but threats, distractions, and forbidden romance lurk both outside-and within-the school grounds. Now that they’re in hiding, the drama is only just beginning.

Review:
This book was nothing short of the wonderfulness I expected from Richelle Mead. Although, this is my second time reading Bloodlines (so that I can refresh my memory to read the third, Indigo Spell) I enjoyed it the same amount if not more. Richelle Mead just has a way of sucking you into her books and spitting you out when its over. Leaving you wanting so much more. I love everything about this book. The plot, the characters, everything.
My favorite thing about this book is probably Sydney Sage herself. She’s around eighteen and all she does is take responsibility for everyone else. I don’t know many eighteen year olds that are like that. She’s selfless; she doesn’t even see that in taking care of everyone else she sometimes forgets that she needs to take care of herself too. But what makes me love her so much is that even though she’s not supposed to ‘sympathize’ with vampires, the whole reason she takes care of the group is because she’s come to care about them. They’re her friends regardless of the fact that she’s supposed to hate them. Which brings me to something else that I like about Sydney. She does what she’s told, most of the time. But she knows when she can get away with being her usual sassy self and how much sass to give. She follows all the rules, but only if she thinks it’s the right thing to do. Sydney never does anything unless its the right thing to do. There’s only one thing that I don’t like about her and that’s the fact that Sydney is almost always berating herself for doing something wrong. She could have done it better, differently, even when everything worked out perfectly. She’s so hard on herself and I didn’t like that. I just wanted to yell at her! But, despite that one thing, Sydney’s my favorite.
Then there’s Adrian, Jill, and Eddie, the gang. They all add perfectly to the story in their own way. Adrian with his sarcastic remarks and all his quarks. I fell in love with Adrian while reading the Vampire Academy Series, but I fell deeper with this book. You see so much more of him and I love it. Jill’s quiet and kind of timid nature. I like Jill well enough, but sometimes she just irritated me. She never stuck up for herself and was always too concerned with being different than everyone else. Yeah Jill, you’re different. You’re kind of a Moroi fucking princess, ACT LIKE ONE. Toward the end of the book Jill is definitely better about her poor me attitude, not until after Sydney yells at her of course. And then there’s Eddie. Eddie’s also someone I got to know in the Vampire Academy books. But in Bloodlines his character is developed a lot more., which I liked. The way Eddie thinks is duty over everything. Even if duty means watching the girl you love hangout with a guy that looks like a dead friend of yours. You can tell Eddie cares about all the people in his life, even if he doesn’t say it, I love this about him. Basically, I love all the characters in this book.
All in all, I really loved this book and its one I would definitely suggest to everyone, everywhere. Go get it, and read it. Now. Although, if you really like vampire/love stories, you should probably read the Vampire Academy series first.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

