Swoon – Nina Malkin

Summary:
Torn from her native New York City and dumped in the land of cookie-cutter preps, Candice is resigned to accept her posh, dull fate. Nothing ever happens in Swoon, Connecticut…until Dice’s perfect, privileged cousin Penelope nearly dies in a fall from and old tree and her spirit intertwines with that of a ghost. His name? Sinclair Youngblood Powers. His mission? Revenge. And while Pen is oblivious to the possession, Dice is all to aware of Sin. She’s intensely drawn to him-but nit at all crazy about the havoc he’s wreaking.
Determined to exorcise the demon, Dice accidentally sets Sin loose, gives him flesh, makes him formidable. Now she must destroy and even more potent-and irresistible-adversary before the whole town succumbs to Sin’s will. Only trouble is, she’s in love with him.
What do you do when the boy of your dreams is too bad to be true?

Review:
Let me tell you about this book, Swoon by Nina Malkin. It wasn’t very good. I read the first fifty pages and waited for the plot to actually go somewhere. I did the same at page one hundred, one fifty, until the book was over. This book ended and I’m currently still confused. This book made no sense, the plot doesn’t seem to go anywhere. I mean, she falls in love with a ghost that’s possessing her best friend. And she miraculously, without even really spending any time with him, falls deeply in love with him. Oh, and then the group thinks its a good idea to try and exorcise the ghost out of Pen! Who would ever think that this would end well?
Toward the end of the book a little explaining was done. But the only explanation we got was Sin telling us that Dice was basically God to him because she created him. Sin gives her a god complex. Another thing that I didn’t like was how much of an asshole Sin turned into once he had his own body. Like, be thankful you have your own body, and life! Don’t automatically turn into a douche. The last thing that I really did not care for about this book was the main character. Dice. She’s whiny, and doesn’t actually think anything through. She just seems ignorant. Like, oh I’m going to let my boyfriend, who I don’t know anything about, kill a bunch of people for revenge. Because that’s okay? This book, just aggravated me.
There were however some things I did like about this book. I loved the idea. It’s super creative and unique. Although the plot doesn’t really go anywhere I feel like I got to know the characters more than I usually do when reading a book with a super complex plot. Either way, I wasn’t a huge fan of this book and I probably wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. I was just so bored the whole time. But at Antonia’s suggestion, I’m going to continue and read the sequel, Swear. I’ll let you know if it gets any better.

Keep on reading lovely, Amanda.

One response to “Swoon – Nina Malkin

Have any thoughts?

