Fallen by Lauren Kate

Goodreads Summary:There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.
Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.
Even Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce – he goes out of his way to make that very clear. But she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, Luce has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret…even if it kills her.
Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, FALLEN is a page-turning thriller and the ultimate love story.

I’m really not sure how much I’m going to have to say about Fallen by Lauren Kate. Honestly, I’m not a big fan of it. It’s not overall a bad book. And I have it on good authority (Amanda) that this series is wonderful. Personally, though, it was hard for me to get through this first book in the series. I found the first three hundred pages or so rather slow. One or two exciting things happen, but these events are surrounded by slightly monotonous and barely relevant details.
I loved pretty much all of the secondary characters. Arriane was hilarious in her insanity and Roland (though his part in this book was small) intrigued me. Penn was the only character who was completely sane and I enjoyed having those little bits of “normal” whenever she was around.
As for the main characters, Daniel was so aggravating I couldn’t even stand it. He has to be bipolar. I mean, I understand he was trying to stay away from Luce for her own good, but the entire time I just imagined shouting at him, “Just fucking pick one already!” Either be an asshole or not. The back and forth between the two was just irritating.
And Luce… she just annoyed the shit out of me. I don’t know what it is about her character, but I just REALLY didn’t like her. She’s kind of whiny and is one of those characters where you literally just sit there like, “Did she really just do that? That was so stupid!” Also, the way she fell in love with Daniel bothered me so much. Okay, I get it. They’re star-crossed. She’s loved him in all her past lives. She has REALLY vague recollections of knowing him in past lives. I can see Daniel already loving her in this life because he remembers everything from their past. But Luce doesn’t. Even all the feelings that come back from the past wouldn’t have been enough for me. I wouldn’t disregard them, but I’d tell him patience is a goddamn virtue and I’m going to take some time to get to know him in THIS life before I blindly followed the poster boy for assholes.
Alright, sorry. I’m done ranting now. I don’t think I’m going to finish this series. Like I said, it’s not necessarily bad, but it’s not my kind of book. It was too slow for me and Luce and Daniel annoy me too much. I wouldn’t let this review put you off this book, though. Amanda loved this series and is seriously angry with me for not finishing it. If you’ve been meaning to read this book, I still think you should try it. Personally, I just wouldn’t put it on my favorites list.
-Antonia

5 responses to “Fallen by Lauren Kate

  • angelicreader

    Heehee. I had a little moment while reading your rant.

    I did the exact same thing while reading it. I hated Daniel. Which was a first for me, I do not normally hate the male lead. BUT that said, I actually rather enjoyed the books. Yes I read the entire series. And yes I do recommend it.

    And YES I loved your review.

  • Vasiliki

    I liked the first book, although Luce made me so angry and frustrated so many times! As the story progressed however, i found it getting worse and worse. As a renault i’ve left the series in half, i’v already purchased the third book (a long time ago) but can’t get around to reading it, it’s just so dreadful 😛 But i did enjoy the first book 🙂

  • Danielle

    I was really “meh” about the first book but somehow I pushed through (must have been a slow book month) and continued with the series and I do love it. The third is my fave, haven’t read the finale which I suppose is telling that its not high on my list but it does get better. Review is spot on. Agree with everything you said!

  • classybooksxo

    Thanks, guys! I always hate saying bad things about books. It seems almost sacrilegious. I’m glad there’s now some positive feedback on this post. Well, at least mostly positive. 🙂
    -Antonia

  • beckyday6

    HALLELUJAH. I couldn’t stand this book, I did end up trying the second book Torment but after that I gave up, I couldn’t take it anymoreeeeeee! 😛

Have any thoughts?

