Illusions – Aprilynne Pike

Summary:
“I don’t do patrols, I don’t go hunting, I just stick close to you. You live your life. I’ll keep you safe,” Tamani said, sweeping a lock of hair from her face. “Or die trying.”
Laurel hasn’t seen Tamani since she begged him to let her go last year. Though her heart still aches, Laurel is confident that David was the right choice.
But just as life returns to normal, Laurel realizes that a hidden enemy lies in wait. Once again, Laurel must turn to Tamani to protect and guide her, for the danger that now threatens Avalon is one that no faerie thought would ever be possible. And for the first time, Laurel cannot be sure that her side with prevail.

Review:
Reading Illusions, the third book in the Wings series, took me significantly longer to read than the first two. Partly because I’ve had classes and life to interrupt my reading time, and partly because I had a difficult time getting through the book. Don’t get me wrong. This book was just as good as the first two, and there were many things I enjoyed about this book. But also a few things I did not like.
We’ll start with the things I didn’t like. The tension between Tamani and Laurel is just, ugh. I just want them to love each other already! But instead she stays with David while still thinking about the feelings she has for Tamani. I just want them to get it over with and be together forever. He’s just so funny, and cute, and sweet, and would do anything for her. Anywho! Aside from my obsession with Tamani, something else that I didn’t like about Illusions was that toward the middle of the book, things started getting boring. There were of course the random troll attacks to spice things up, but we never actually found out anything useful. There was so much guessing about what was actually going on that I got to the point where I just wanted to know what was happening. But Aprilynn Pike sure fixes that when you get to the end. Let me tell you, this author is a pro at cliffhangers. If you read my review for Spells, you’ll know how I felt about the ending to that. This book was much of the same, but worse.
Now let me tell you all the things I enjoyed about Illusions. I love Laurel’s character even more. She is still the always responsible girl that she’s been in the previous books. She’s stays smart and does the right thing in all the situations she seems to get into. She has become a bit spontaneous, which I adored. Laurel also had to deal with so much stress, from trolls to school, to the conflict between David and Tamani. She handled it like any normal teenage girl would and I really liked that. It made her seem like a more realistic character. It helped me make a stronger connection with her. David is a different story. He’s very smart and always seems to have really good ideas to help with whatever dilemma there is. He solves some important problems, but I really just am not a fan. He gets so moody anytime Tamani is around, and that really bothered me. I mean, come on David. You’ve got Laurel. Stop being such an asshole about him, he’s going anywhere, you might as well just get over it. Onto my favorite, Tamani. He handled all the changes he had to go through for Laurel very well. He never strayed from his duty. He overworked himself to keep her safe. Everything he does is for her. Everything is because of how much he loves Laurel. I know he’s fictional and all, but can I have one too please?
Overall, I think I liked Spells the best so far. But I do still have another left to read. If you have any thoughts or opinions feel free to let me know.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

