Destined – Aprilynne Pike

Summary:
Tamani looked at her gravely, and reached up to tuck her hair behind her ear. He hesitated for an instant, then his hands found the sides of her face, pulling her to him. He didn’t kiss her, just held her face close to his, their foreheads resting together, their noses almost touching.
She hated how much it felt like goodbye.
Laurel now knows the truth: Yuki is a rare Winter faerie, the most powerful-and deadly-of all, and Klea plans to use her to help conquer and destroy Avalon. But Klea’s reach extends far beyond one Winter faerie. With Tamani, David, and Chelsea by her side, Laurel prepares to face what may be Avalon’s final days, in the sunning conclusion to the Wings series.

Review:
Oh. My. God. This book. Destined is the fourth and final in the Wings series written by Aprilynne Pike. And let me tell you it was an amazing ending. I read this book in a couple of hours. I couldn’t put it down. This is one of those stay up all night reading kind of books. I literally just finished it, and I’m still reeling from everything that happened. I mentioned in my review of Illusions that Spells was my favorite so far, but there was one book still left. And Destined has taken the place of the second book as my favorite in this series for so many reasons.
One of the reasons is because everyone finally gets their happy ending. Everything is over, there’s no danger to hide from, no one to protect, nothing left to worry about except being happy. I just love books with happy endings. Another thing I really liked about this book was that there was never a dull moment. There was constantly something going on, whether it be a huge battle, or Laurel &gang trying to save as many lives as possible. This is something I usually don’t like about books because I start to feel overwhelmed, but Pike did it perfectly. The last book is when all the pieces fall together, everything is finally just laid on the table. Something else that made this book even more enjoyable to me was that even though it had such a serious tone, with Avalon being on the brink of destruction and all that, Pike still managed to make it funny. There were times the characters were mid-battle and I’d just crack up laughing because of some dumb joke one of them made to bring up everyone’s spirits.
And finally we get to my favorite part. What I loved most about this book is actually a spoiler. So if you’re planning on reading these (which I hope my reviews have inspired you to do) you should probably skip this paragraph, or don’t read the rest of this review. Anyway, back to my favorite part. Tamani and Laurel end up together! Laurel almost loses him, and she realizes that she would rather die than not have him in her life forever. And she tells him so. But not before, I also loved this part, she tells David that they never were going to work in the long run and that he needed to open his eyes to what was around him. Basically she told him to love Chelsea, right before they all went back home and lived happily ever after.
I fell so hard for all of the character in these books. I guess I can admit that I even love David a little bit. But Laurel is my favorite, with Tamani right after, of course. Laurel never let anything get in the way of what was important. Her values stayed strong and all of this was because of the love she had for the people in her life. If i could be more like Laurel, I’d definitely be a better person. Then there’s Tamani, who is very similar to Laurel. He knows what’s important and never strays from his duty. He does everything he can to save any and everyone because he thinks it’s the right thing to do and I think that’s amazing.
There were quite a few really sad parts of this book. There is an epic battle to save Avalon and not everyone can be saved. Characters I’ve fallen in love with have lost their lives to save so many people. And because of them Avalon is kept safe, as I said happily ever after. Even one of the antagonists, Yuki, does something very admirable and at the end of the book she has my respect.
This book, just wow. This book sucked me in, then spit me out when it was over. It absolutely left me wanting more of these fictional people I’ve fallen in love with. More about what their lives are now, just to see how happy everyone is. But I accept that they’re over. And I suggest that you go buy them, get them from the library, whatever, so that you can fall in love with fictional people just like I did. I would suggest these books to anyone, maybe leaning to the older young adult group, but they were amazing books. So, if you’ve read the first and had a hard time getting through it because it’s a bit silly or anything like that you should totally give them a second chance. If you’ve read them and agree, disagree, or you’d like to obsess of Tamani like I still am, be sure to do that. Also, I’m sorry if this review isn’t the best. It’s currently 5:30am, and I really should be sleeping. But I had to finish reading. On that note, I’m going to bed. Goodnight fellow readers.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

One response to “Destined – Aprilynne Pike

Have any thoughts?

