Wings – Aprilynne Pike

Summary:
Laurel was mesmerized, staring at the pale things with wide eyes. They were terrifyingly beautiful-too beautiful for words.
Laurel turned to the mirror again, her eyes on the hovering petals that floated beside her head. They almost looked like wings.
In this extraordinary tale of magic and intrigue, romance and danger, everything you thought you knew about faeries will be changed forever.

Review:
This book has received many different reviews. Many did not like it, and compared reading Wings to Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight, but there were also some positive reviews. My opinion falls around the middle of this scale. I didn’t hate it, but was definitely a little bit silly. The main character, Laurel, is like any normal teenage girl, except for the fact that one day she found flowers sprouting from her back. This is the silly part. I couldn’t help but giggle a little picturing a girl freaking out because she had flower petals growing right out of the skin on her back. Pike did a pretty good job keeping everything in the book pretty realistic, except of course for the girl growing flowers and all of the rest of the fairy parts.
Despite the ridiculousness of some aspects of the book, I was sucked in very quickly. I read this book in a day and immediately started the second. I couldn’t put it down until I knew what was going to happen next, I wanted to know it all. Which brings me to something else I liked, I had no idea what was going to happen next, I was kept in suspense the whole book.
I liked Laurel as a character overall. She has so much love for her family and newly made friends. But this love sometimes leads her to not so smart choices. Laurel is very brave throughout all of Wings, to the point where it’s almost more stupidity or ignorance rather than bravery. She gets herself into situations that she can’t always get out of by herself, but other than her misguided bravery, everything she does is to protect the ones she loves.
There are some things that I don’t particularly like about Laurel. First off, as I said, she’s like any normal teenage girl so she obviously finds a boy that she constantly thinks about. This is where David comes in. When things start getting crazy for Laurel, she seems to want to focus more on what’s happening between her and David, rather than trying to figure out the life changing events happening to her. Her boy craziness doesn’t get much better when Tamani comes into the picture. So now we have the typical “which boy should I be with” dilemma. Of course, it doesn’t help that David is part of her human life and Tamani is part of her fairy life. Personally, I want her to love Tamani. I don’t have anything against David, and I do like him too, but i like Tamani better and I think Laurel should too.
Something else that frustrated me was that any time Laurel went to see Tamani for answers about everything happening with her, he never actually answered most of her questions. He mostly said he couldn’t tell her, or gave her an answer that didn’t actually help with anything. I’d imagine that this was done on purpose, to keep up the suspense.
Toward the end of Wings, Laurel starts to smarten up. This is where the love for her family and friends come in. She makes the smart decision to stay with them and try to protect them, rather than abandon them for the fantastic new world she’s found. You can definitely see how much Laurel has matured at the end on the book. Well, as much as any sixteen year old girl who just found out she’s a fairy can mature.
Overall, I thought this book was pretty good. Pike put a new and unique spin on fae, and kept me guessing the whole time. I would definitely suggest this book to the younger age group of supernatural readers, or if you like fairy themed books. And if any of my fellow readers have read this series, let me know if you agree or disagree, or any thoughts you have on these books.

Keep reading lovelys, Amanda.

Have any thoughts?

