Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Goodreads Summary: The most anticipated story in the blockbuster Dark-Hunter series. The never-before-revealed story of the Dark-Hunter leader, Acheron. He was made human in order to escape death, but in death he was reborn a god. . .
Eleven thousand years ago a god was born. Cursed into the body of a human, Acheron spent a lifetime of shame. However, his human death unleashed an unspeakable horror that almost destroyed the earth. Then, brought back against his will, Acheron became the sole defender of mankind.
Only it was never that simple. For centuries, he has fought for our survival and hidden a past he’ll do anything to keep concealed. Until a lone woman who refuses to be intimidated by him threatens his very existence.
Now his survival, and ours, hinges on hers and old enemies reawaken and unite to kill them both.
War has never been more deadly… or more fun.

Hi, Dears,
So I’m going to talk about Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon. It’s the fourteenth book in the Dark-Hunters series. Or the twelfth if you don’t count the Dream-Hunters books. I personally do because there are connections between them. And, no, you don’t have to read all the other books in the series before you read Acheron. The previous books include some background and various events leading up to things that happen in Acheron, but you won’t be lost if you choose to skip ahead. I would advise reading the other ones because they’re fantastic books and each one is wonderful. Also, Acheron (or Ash, I’ll call him both) takes a part in almost every one of the other books. You come to love him throughout the series and when you finally get to read his story, it’s so much better when you already care about him.
I’ve read Acheron more than once and every time it’s exactly the same: I cry, and cry. And then I cry some more. Then I laugh, and laugh, and laugh some more. The book is split into two parts: Ash’s human life, and Ash’s life after he’s killed and becomes a god. Ash’s human life was, to put it nicely, absolutely fucking terrible. I really don’t have any words to describe it. Basically, every bad thing that could ever, even remotely possibly, happen to him, fucking does. I can’t even tell you how many times I cried during the first half of the book.
But don’t worry. The second half makes it all worth it. And Kenyon didn’t write the first part to be depressing. She wrote it because it’s essential to know what happened to Ash to be able to understand who he is as a character.
I’m going to try not to talk too much about the first half now, because much as I think it’s an important part of the story, it is pretty damn sad.
The second half is wonderful. Soteria(Tory) is a great character. She’s ambitious, caring and funny. She and Ash are perfect together. They are one of my favorite couples I’ve ever read about. Everything that happened to Ash as a human weighs so heavily on him, even eleven thousand years later. (Yes, that’s 11,000 years later. What’d you expect? He’s a god.) Tory helps him to get past it, and see that nothing he did or didn’t do could have prevented what happened. It wasn’t his fault, it was other people being assholes because they’re assholes. Not because he deserved it.
If you’ve read any of the Dark-Hunter books, you know there’s a lot of action, a lot of sex, and ridiculous amounts of humor. These books make me laugh so fucking much. I highly recommend all of them, but most especially Acheron. He still remains my favorite character of the series, which Kenyon is still writing more of. So, go to your local library or book store and get it, (or all of them) so you can love it too.
-Antonia

One response to “Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon

  • trilbysink

    One of the best books ever… though I have to admit, I’ve only read the first half. Can’t stomach my fav character falling for some random woman.. when he’s predicted at birth to always be alone… “He will travel through life alone and abandoned, ever seeking kindness and ever finding cruelty.”, etc. So on my bookshelf he sits on his thrown recovering from the first half of the book and begging me to read the second half already. At least he’s in a peaceful state. Cause I just can’t do it… yet. 😉

Have any thoughts?

