Hades – Alexandra Adornetto

Summary:
Bethany Church is an angel sent to Earth to keep dark forces at bay. Falling in love was never part of her mission, but the bond between Beth and her mortal boyfriend, Xavier Woods, is undeniably strong. But even Xavier’s love, and the care of her archangel siblings, Gabriel and Ivy, can’t keep Beth from being tricked into a motorcycle ride that ends up in Hell. There, the demon Jake Thorn bargains for Beth’s release back to Earth. But what he asks of her will destroy her, and quite possibly, her loved ones, as well.
The story that Alexandra Adornetto built in her New York Times-bestselling debut, Halo, comes alive in action packed and unexpected ways, as angels battle demons, and the power of love is put to the test.

Review:
In the second book of the Halo Trilogy so much happens. The book starts six months after where the first ends. Beth and Xavier are trying to have a normal relationship, or as normal as it gets in a human/angel relationship. Things are going perfectly fine until Beth’s friend Molly, which as I mentioned in my review of Halo is a fucking moron, decides that they should preform a seance on Halloween. Because she’s an idiot. Molly basically guilts Beth into doing this with them, and Beth plays along because she wants to make her friend happy. Which leads to the villain, Jake Thorn, who Gabriel and Ivy defeated in the last book, to be set loose among the population again. Jake uses Beth’s unselfish caring for those that she cares about, one of the many traits I love about her, to lure Beth to Hell. Beth continues to be the character I fell in love with in the first book. While she’s in Hell, being held against her will, all she does is think of a way to get back to her friends and family, Xavier too of course. Even in Hell she stays the selfless, caring, slightly ignorant angel she’s always been. I love that about her, no matter what situation she’s in, she doesn’t let her values change. And while she’s trying to find a way home, her loved ones are also doing everything they can to get her back. Gabriel is doing everything he can with the big man upstairs with Ivy right at his side and Xavier never leaves the pair, trying to help them in any way he can. When the book starts, I really REALLY hate Jake, but as it progresses I kind of want to love him. But he just keeps showing that he’s an asshole, so I start to hate him all over again. The way Adornetto writes about her characters just makes me want to love all of them, even if I actually hate them a lot.
This book, like the first, kept me on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what happens next. The way it’s written makes it easy to love all the characters, as I mentioned, and when the book ends you’re left wanting so much more. I’ll mention, as I did in my review of Halo, Hades is a little heavy on the religion end of things. But I mean, the main characters ARE angels, so you should expect at least a little bit of that stuff and junk. But regardless of that, Hades was still a fantastic book that I couldn’t put down until i was done. If this review makes you want to read this book then you should probably go look at my review for Halo and start there. You can do that here: https://classyasfuckbookreviews.wordpress.com/2013/02/08/halo-alexandra-adornetto/

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

3 responses to “Hades – Alexandra Adornetto

  • zoelost

    This review is great!! I’ve read both of Halo and Hades and everything you said about the books is spot on. I’m so happy to see this great review and I can’t agree more about how much you hate Jake but he starts to grow on you but at the end of the day is still terrible. I’ve had the third book in the trilogy for a while now collecting dust on my shelf and this review has encouraged me to start reading the series again!

  • Anonymous

    I haven’t read Hades because my library only had Halo and Heaven, which is the next book, but I didn’t know Hades even existed, so now I’m waiting for it. So I basically know what happens after hades but I still was to read it so bad, thanks for the preview, now I want to read it more!

Have any thoughts?

