Halo – Alexandra Adornetto

Summary:
Three angels-Gabriel, the warrior; Ivy, the healer; and Bethany, the youngest and most human- are sent by Heaven to bring good to a world falling under the influence of darkness. They work hard to conceal their luminous glow, superhuman powers, and, most dangerous of all, their wings, all the while avoiding all human attachments.
Then Bethany meets Xavier Woods, and neither of them is able to resist the attraction between them. Gabriel and Ivy do everything in their power to intervene, but the bond between Xavier and Bethany seems too strong.
The angels’ mission is urgent, and dark forces are threatening. Will love ruin Bethany or save her?

Review:
Oh. My. God. I don’t care what anyone else says about this book, it was fantastic. Once I started reading, I couldn’t put it down. Bethany is the main character of the book, and it’s her first time traveling to Earth and being in a human body. The fact that she’s so young definitely shows. She’s ignorant of almost all things 21st century. So ignorant that it might annoy you as you read. Personally I thought it was funny and that Alexandra Adornetto got the point of Beth’s youth across very well. She’s just like any normal teenage girl, except that she’s an angel. She knows that she can’t stay on Earth, and once she’s fallen in love with Xavier it becomes a huge internal dilemma. I liked Beth because throughout the trilogy she was always a very honest character and was almost always more concerned about those she loves more than herself. This book kept me on my toes, I didn’t know what to expect next. Although, I’ll admit there were a few things that I saw coming a mile away. The way the Adornetto wrote had me fall in love with all the characters almost immediately. Another big thing about this book was the religious aspect of it. Gabriel, Ivy and Bethany are angels sent to Earth to defeat the evil that’s happening all over town. And to do this the trio needs to make the town have faith in God again. There is a lot of God talk and things along that line. I’m not a terribly religious person and I’m not one to get offended about religion unless someone is pushing it on me. This book isn’t like that. It isn’t pushed onto the reader, it’s just mentioned, frequently. So if religion talk bothers you this book may not be for you. I think the only think I didn’t like about this book was the girl that took Beth under her wing, Molly. I hated her more and more as I kept reading. She was just the stupidest, most air-headed girl and it seriously irritated me. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that enjoys the supernatural young adult types of books.

Keep on reading lovelys, Amanda.

One response to “Halo – Alexandra Adornetto

  • Hades – Alexandra Adornetto | classyasfuckbookreviews

    […] Review: In the second book of the Halo Trilogy so much happens. The book starts six months after where the first ends. Beth and Xavier are trying to have a normal relationship, or as normal as it gets in a human/angel relationship. Things are going perfectly fine until Beth’s friend Molly, which as I mentioned in my review of Halo is a fucking moron, decides that they should preform a seance on Halloween. Because she’s an idiot. Molly basically guilts Beth into doing this with them, and Beth plays along because she wants to make her friend happy. Which leads to the villain, Jake Thorn, who Gabriel and Ivy defeated in the last book, to be set loose among the population again. Jake uses Beth’s unselfish caring for those that she cares about, one of the many traits I love about her, to lure Beth to Hell. Beth continues to be the character I fell in love with in the first book. While she’s in Hell, being held against her will, all she does is think of a way to get back to her friends and family, Xavier too of course. Even in Hell she stays the selfless, caring, slightly ignorant angel she’s always been. I love that about her, no matter what situation she’s in, she doesn’t let her values change. And while she’s trying to find a way home, her loved ones are also doing everything they can to get her back. Gabriel is doing everything he can with the big man upstairs with Ivy right at his side and Xavier never leaves the pair, trying to help them in any way he can. When the book starts, I really REALLY hate Jake, but as it progresses I kind of want to love him. But he just keeps showing that he’s an asshole, so I start to hate him all over again. The way Adornetto writes about her characters just makes me want to love all of them, even if I actually hate them a lot. This book, like the first, kept me on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what happens next. The way it’s written makes it easy to love all the characters, as I mentioned, and when the book ends you’re left wanting so much more. I’ll mention, as I did in my review of Halo, Hades is a little heavy on the religion end of things. But I mean, the main characters ARE angels, so you should expect at least a little bit of that stuff and junk. But regardless of that, Hades was still a fantastic book that I couldn’t put down until i was done. If this review makes you want to read this book then you should probably go look at my review for Halo and start there. You can do that here: https://classyasfuckbookreviews.wordpress.com/2013/02/08/halo-alexandra-adornetto/ […]

Have any thoughts?

